Release Pandora-7800: Atari 7800 Emulator For Pandora V1.1.0

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by zx-81, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    pandora-7800-v110.jpg

    Hi All,

    ProSystem is the best emulator of Atari 7800 game console, running on Windows system.
    It has been written by Greg Stanton, see http://home.comcast.net/~gscottstanton for details.

    Here is a port on Pandora of my Wiz port version.

    Many new features have been added compared to original version.

    A full working PND version and source code are available on my web site : http://zx81.zx81.free.fr/


    Enjoy,

    Zx.
     
    Tags:
  2. Trip

    Trip Sorry, but I suck at explaining stuff :P

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,671
    Location:
    The cesspit of the world, Bradford U.K
    Never tried any of the older Atari emulators but I'll definitely give this a shot when possible.
    Cheers for another great port Zx :)
     
  3. jaycee900

    jaycee900 Gamer Since 1980

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Cambs, UK
    Hi, yeah thanks, your emulators are some of the easiest to use which is always great imo! Will give this a go later, thanks!
     
  4. puppydee

    puppydee Linux Virgin!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If zx-81 made beer, it would probably be the best beer in the world :) Another great emulator m8 many thanks :) I love the devs in this place :)
     
  5. DaveC

    DaveC Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,208
    Cool thanks for the port.

    Do you think in the future that there could be a way to save ROM paths?

    It takes quite a bit of searching to get to thr ROMs.

    Thanks for the good work.
     
  6. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    That'a already the case for all my emu port. It saves the latest rom path you used in a file (global.cfg).
    The first time you launch the emu, you just need to navigate using the rom-file-requester to the location you want, you load a rom.
    When you exit the emu, this path is saved, and next time you launch the emu, it will open this folder instead of the "<appsdata>/<emuname>/rom directory.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,741
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Hm, doesn't work in mine :)

    I think you might've fallen into the PND-Permission trap :D

    If a file (like global.cfg) exists in the PND, it can't write to it anymore.
    Either remove that file from there (only works if the emulator creates a default config on first run) or use a script to workaround with that.

    i.e.

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    if [ ! -e ./global.cfg ]
      cp ./defglobal.cfg ./global.cfg
    fi
    ./runemulatornow
    
    This will check on run if global.cfg exists. If it doesn't, it copies over a defglobal.cfg which will then be created in the appdata-directory and will be writable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2015
  8. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,449
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    cp --no-clobber also works
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  9. superatarian

    superatarian Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    This is great. Thanks for the 2600 and 7800 ports. Never owned a 7800. but
    I played one. My 2600 still works, so I will love the emulator for it. Thanks
    again.....
     
  10. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    It works fine for me. You don't have to create a global.cfg file or to repack the PND ((or put it in the data folder in the PND).

    You only need to launch the emulator once, then using the file requester you can navigate wherever you want on the pandora directories and choose a .zip or a rom file.
    When you exit the emu, it will then create the global.cfg with proper owner/permission in the appdata/<a7800> folder.
    Next time you launch the emu, it will search roms in the latest folder you choose previous time (saved in global.cfg file).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  11. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    i can confirm this behaviour, ZX,
    i have to pick the roms folder only in the 1st time
    thanks

    p.s.: gee, 1000+ posts, i think it deserves a pandora review... :D
     
  12. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,741
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Aaaah, does it save when you EXIT?

    I always use the Pandora button within minimenu which just kills the running app, so it won't save anything :p
     
  13. DaveC

    DaveC Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,208
    Oh yeah never thought of exiting through the menu, I just use the Pandora button.

    One thing I noticed is that the sound seems all messed up. It is garbled almost like it is frameskipping the audio.

    It did that on the GP2X too but I just assumed it was a speed issue. Surly the Pandora is fast enough for clean audio isn't it?

    Oh yeah the emu has no preview pic for minimenu and overriding it with a pic of my own doesn't work either. Any way to get emus to start using the standard preview pic spec?
     
  14. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    YES :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  15. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    you said 'killing is not nice', so use the exit button, will you? :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  16. sixtyfifthbit

    sixtyfifthbit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    It doesn't kill -9 the thing, does it? If not, maybe an atexit() function is in order...
     

Share This Page

Loading...