Beta Pocketsnes Hack

Hitnrun

Well, I got the Wiz PocketSNES source code and wanted to see if I was able to make it run on the Pandora.

It uses Rlyeh's mini-lib for gp2x, so first I tried to see it I could do a SDL "wrapper" for it.
This lib writes directly to the gp2x memory, so out of laziness I just tried to copy the gp2x memory to a SDL surface's pixels, and it worked :)

Then I mapped the gp2x buttons to SDL, disabled the sound and did a SDL_SoftStretch, and Mario ran fullscreen!

Well as I said, this is only a hack, it is slow and laggy (~20fps), sound does not work (because it seemed to be too different from SDL, but I am not too good at sound programming), there's lot of debugging comments on the source, well, I am releasing this so if anyone wants to hack on it, let's have some fun!

This is NOT an official port, I have not contacted the original author either, this is only a for-fun hack.

For coders, there's a Makefile.pnd, that uses the mini-lib simulation in pandora_sdk.h/pandora_sdk.c, and a "pandora" directory with the pnd-making script.

Enough talking. Here are the goods:

http://www.rangelreale.com/pandora/pocketsnes_hack_0.1.pnd

http://www.rangelreale.com/pandora/PocketSNES_v650_pandora_src-0.1.tar.gz

EDIT: To exit, press 1 + 2.

craigix said:
I'm not at home right now but does the ASM core work on this?

Well, I'm not an expert in ASM, but the compilation does compile all the asm (.S) files that are compiled for the gp2x/wiz, so I assume it is using asm in its routines.

Unscaled, it seems to be running pretty smooth, I would say that about 45fps. But using software scaling slows down it quite a bit, like to about ~15fps.

I must also add that sound as not disabled, only the playing part was commented, so the sound processing is still being done, only not output.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hitnrun said:
craigix said:
I'm not at home right now but does the ASM core work on this?