Ralink usb wifi support ever?


dibad0011

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
94
Just need to ask if there is a possiblity of adding support on Ralink usb wifi adapters such as RT2800 and/or RT2870. I already know most Realtek adapters work out of the box (I have one) but still it would be great adding greater external usb-wifi compatibility. Hope anyone is interested in doing it.
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,041
Sometimes, it's just a missing firmware that you can take from a Linux PC or on the Ralink website.


What dmesg reports when you activate them ?
 

dibad0011

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
94
Here is lsusb:


Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


Bus 001 Device 002: ID 203d:14a9


Here is dmesg:


[ 298.598266] usb usb1: New USB device found, idVendor=1d6b, idProduct=0002


[ 298.598297] usb usb1: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=2, SerialNumber=1


[ 298.598297] usb usb1: Product: OMAP-EHCI Host Controller


[ 298.598327] usb usb1: Manufacturer: Linux 3.2.30 ehci_hcd


[ 298.598327] usb usb1: SerialNumber: ehci-omap.0


[ 298.600158] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found


[ 298.600219] hub 1-0:1.0: 3 ports detected


[ 299.020050] usb 1-2: new high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-omap


[ 299.195556] usb 1-2: New USB device found, idVendor=203d, idProduct=14a9


[ 299.195556] usb 1-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3


[ 299.195556] usb 1-2: Product: 802.11 n WLAN


[ 299.195587] usb 1-2: Manufacturer: Ralink


[ 299.195587] usb 1-2: SerialNumber: 1.0


[ 299.392852] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain


[ 299.629150] usb 1-2: reset high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-omap


[ 299.828582] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'pid'


[ 299.830017] Registered led device: rt2800usb-phy0::radio


[ 299.830230] Registered led device: rt2800usb-phy0::assoc


[ 299.830413] Registered led device: rt2800usb-phy0::quality


[ 299.831420] usbcore: registered new interface driver rt2800usb


[ 300.217620] udev: renamed network interface wlan0 to wlan2


[ 361.129577] phy0 -> rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware.


[ 422.129486] phy0 -> rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware.
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,041
Last edited by a moderator:

dibad0011

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
94
I followed this other thread which helped me a lot. Now what I don't know is how do I copy the .bin firmware inside lib/firmware inside my pandora. pardon my linux newbieness. I can't move it from a sd card to the directory in mention (I guess I have no permissions).


boards.openpandora.org/index.php?/topic/9645-usb-wifi-rt5370-driver-help/
 

dibad0011

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
94
By the way, Thanks Linux-Swat for all your support (specially with newbies like me). Do you have a paypal account to receive donations?Haven't tried your slackware port yet.
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,041
Open a terminal.


You will use sudo and cp.


sudo allows you to execute commands as root (administrator), and cp copies.


So you have to type:



Code:
sudo cp /media/name_of_your_card/path_to_the_firmware/name_of_the_firmware /lib/firmware/

I'll set a paypal soon. So much people want to donate, i'd be crazy to refuse ^^. Especially as i'm currently unemployed.


Check this thread for more info:
 

dibad0011

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
94
Thanks, now my usb Ralink adapter works on ny Pandora!./myaddrproxy.php/http/boards.openpandora.org/public/style_emoticons/default/smile.png
 

LTStone

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
866
Age
48
Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help me setup the Ralink RT2870 drivers on the Pandora..
 

LTStone

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
866
Age
48
Ok I think I just have to copy the rt2870.bin file to my lib/firmware folder, how do I do that? i'm not to experienced with linux.. the file is on my sd card (mmcblk1p1)
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,041
You have to write as an administrator (root) to do that, so you'll use the sudo command.


And to copy, the cp command, so it will look like that:


sudo cp /media/name_of_your_card/firmware_name /lib/firmware/
 

LTStone

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
866
Age
48
Awesome thanks! Works great, Now I just have to figure out how to get this to work on android :)
 
Top