SDL 1.2 fullscreen position fix


Bosbeetle

Terminally lost
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
4,121
Age
40
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
I was actually thinking about the whole rotation method you chose last night before I went to sleep (It kept me awake damnit!) and thought HDMI connectivity would be impacted by your change.

This would ensure that HDMI would work fine after the fact correct?
Had the same thought, didnt keep me awake though, just thought atc will fix it... ;)
 

aTc

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
225
This should work, created a fork of the debian package, and compile it with --disable-video-x11-vm --enable-video-x11-xrandr
(the debian version doesn't have the arm neon option)
opentyrian (from the debian repo) works fine now. (hint, run with -j option to stop it from using the joystick and messing up the controls)

to try it :

sudo apt update
sudo apt install libsdl1.2pyra

to go back to the debian version, just "sudo apt install libsdl1.2debian" , and everything should be back to the way it was.

It's not set up to be used as the default libsdl1.2 yet, but if it doesn't cause any major problems for anyone I'll switch it.

 

ouzle

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
130
Location
England
Thanks @aTc ! That works fine here.
Post automatically merged:

I'll try packaging my build of OpenTyrian with libsdl1.2pyra as a dependency
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,048
I can disable my port of OpenTyrian off the Repo if need be, I'm not sure I have time to maintain it properly anyway, my current Job is sucking away all my free time and motivation... I was hoping to compile a version with the Comp4All support I did with the Pandora version.
 

ouzle

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
130
Location
England
I can disable my port of OpenTyrian off the Repo if need be, I'm not sure I have time to maintain it properly anyway, my current Job is sucking away all my free time and motivation... I was hoping to compile a version with the Comp4All support I did with the Pandora version.
I just tried your opentyrian dbp and it works great fullscreen with libSDL1.2pyra installed. <Alt>+<Enter> and the scaling and position is fine.
No need to take it down :)
 

aTc

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
225
It's probably best to leave the dependency as libsdl1.2debian though. The pyra package is set up to Provide: that , and makes it more in line with what all the debian packages do.
It's a slightly nicer way of handling things, and the user still has a choice in which one to use. It also allows me to control which one is used through the pyra-meta packages, in case the pyra version does end up causing issues. (maybe not as likely for these modification, but it's probably best to have this as a standard policy for all debian packages we replace in this way)
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,048
I just tried your opentyrian dbp and it works great fullscreen with libSDL1.2pyra installed. <Alt>+<Enter> and the scaling and position is fine.
No need to take it down :)
Oh awesome, tried it and it works great... now to figure out how to get Streets of Rage Remake to scale to a full screen. Widescreen mode seems to be very slow as it seems to utilize a 3x scalar and that is a bit too CPU intensive and 4:3 only has a 2x scalar mode so falls short of actually being full screen.
 
Last edited:

Wally

I am a banana!
Staff member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,130
Age
34
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Yep PCSX Rearmed works fine full screen (I hacked it so it loaded as a window to start with)

When you load a rom, press F11 and you'll be good to go.

I'll fix this and other builds in the coming days / weeks when I get a chance to breathe.
 

ouzle

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
130
Location
England
This should work, created a fork of the debian package, and compile it with --disable-video-x11-vm --enable-video-x11-xrandr
(the debian version doesn't have the arm neon option)
opentyrian (from the debian repo) works fine now. (hint, run with -j option to stop it from using the joystick and messing up the controls)

to try it :

sudo apt update
sudo apt install libsdl1.2pyra

to go back to the debian version, just "sudo apt install libsdl1.2debian" , and everything should be back to the way it was.

It's not set up to be used as the default libsdl1.2 yet, but if it doesn't cause any major problems for anyone I'll switch it.

We'll also need to turn on the --enable-arm-neon configure flag in the libsdl1.2pyra to enable neon acceleration for bitblits.

We'll need to fast-forward, or patch, our pyra branch of libsdl1.2 to get the acceleration. The NEON patches were turned off because they didn't work on 64-bit arm. They've added checks now for 32 / 64 bit but the acceleration is turned off by default until tested.

The --enable-arm-simd does have a more general bug.
 
Last edited:

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,181
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Yep PCSX Rearmed works fine full screen (I hacked it so it loaded as a window to start with)

When you load a rom, press F11 and you'll be good to go.

I'll fix this and other builds in the coming days / weeks when I get a chance to breathe.
Or Click whit the Stylus on the Symbol on the right upper Edge on the Window, this also brings PCSX Rearmed to Fullscreen.. ^^
Ditnt even know that the Emulator runs fullscreen when i made the Video about it..
 

Wally

I am a banana!
Staff member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,130
Age
34
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Well SDL works already but there's some config options that I manually added that need to be changed and aren't easy to do by general users :)
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,181
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
No problem, im fine whit maximized Window, im still happy to have Playstation on this early State of the Pyra..

But will the Pyra Playstation be faster in Fullscreen then in Maximized Window Mode?
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,216
Age
40
Location
49.491276,8.423518
A little Question to understand Things.

When i have a Computer Monitor and run a Game in 640x480 or 800x600 then the Resolution of the Monitor Change and i have Fullscreen without Upscaling in my Grafics Card.

Can we Change the Resolution of the Pyra Display while running and have Fullscreen with lower Resolutions?
Then we maybe can play PSX/other Games in native Resolution but Fullscreen?

Or can the Displays from today not more upscaling Signals like a normal PC Monitor and are fix on this Resolution?

It is maybe a bit offtopic but it will help me to understand why we ever use a standart Resolution and never simply switch to lower Resolutions.
Upscaling make things slower?..it would be nice when we simply lower the Resolution :)

On every PC or Grafics Card..it makes 3D Games faster to run them simply in lower Resolution.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
14,320
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
A little Question to understand Things.

When i have a Computer Monitor and run a Game in 640x480 or 800x600 then the Resolution of the Monitor Change and i have Fullscreen without Upscaling in my Grafics Card.

Can we Change the Resolution of the Pyra Display while running and have Fullscreen with lower Resolutions?
Then we maybe can play PSX/other Games in native Resolution but Fullscreen?

Or can the Displays from today not more upscaling Signals like a normal PC Monitor and are fix on this Resolution?
More or less this. This is still true for modern LCD panels, but they have internal scaling chips that rescale any input to the native resolution. We're more directly connected to our screen, so it expects us to put out data in native resolution and to prescale it if we need to. That shouldn't be an expensive operation, but for some reason I don't quite understand it is at present. I expect this to get better over time.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,181
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
When SDL was fixed, what will happen then? Will this get put in a Debian Update whe can grab via apt sudo update/apt upgrade ? And will then HDMI Work also?
I had the HDMI Cable once inserted when i bootet the Pyra up, and the boot text was on my Small TV, but then it seems to got stuck befor it came to the Login Screen .., so i suppose at least the Connector works allready..
 

ouzle

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
130
Location
England
When SDL was fixed, what will happen then? Will this get put in a Debian Update whe can grab via apt sudo update/apt upgrade ? And will then HDMI Work also?
I had the HDMI Cable once inserted when i bootet the Pyra up, and the boot text was on my Small TV, but then it seems to got stuck befor it came to the Login Screen .., so i suppose at least the Connector works allready..
This SDL1.2 fix is only to make games work in fullscreen. You can try it already by installing "libsdl1.2pyra" from the Synaptic package manager app

Or by opening a terminal and typing:
Bash:
me@pyra:~$ sudo apt update

me@pyra:~$ sudo apt install libsdl1.2pyra

This won't fix HDMI but when HDMI is fixed it might be helpful with the screen rotation.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,181
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Ok the SDL Fix was aplied: I can now just push F11 on the Playstation Emulator instead of pulling the Stylus Out to maximise the Window,
Firefox will also get Fullscreen by Pressing F11, but Thunderbirth and Libre Office dosnt do this whit F11...
I wonder what happens now: Will the SDL gets its way to the Official Update? , And will future Ports gets now Fullscreen Mode?
 
Top