So let me get this straight...

Vicious

Still Fresh
I was one of the ones who took interest in GP32 after reading about it on slashdot.org, actually i had heard about it a long time ago, coz i saw it on liksang.com but that doesnt matter. can someone school me on just how useful this thing is? coz i see that it runs different emulators, and stuff about HTML web browsing, and email, etc. I wanna buy one, but i dont wanna be dissappointed. id appreciate it if someone rambled a bit about what they do with theirs. :blink:

Nice to meet you "Vicious"

I am fairly new to the GP32, only been an owner for just over a month, but I can honestly say I use my mine every day.

There is a particularly good thread out there "slashdot geeks" do not turn away just seeing the title, which explains pretty much the type of person out there who would benefit, nay enjoy thoroughly owning a GP32.

Read that then come back....................................

You back yet? god then i'll continue.

GP32 - Is not a GBA, nor (probably) will it ever be, it may play several GBA games to a certain standard, but probably not to the same standard (speed, sound, future games with newer on-board chips etc)

what it does do, Plays MP3's (okay there are restrictions as to the bitrate playback) out of the box.

It can play DivX compressed movies (remember the 128 MB (currently) SMC restriction and Frame rate 10FPS (?) )

It plays GP32 designed games - several homebrew and some commercial, apparently reasonable quality (not played any at all) and seemingly similar in theme to true Japanese SNES games (well for the RPG type games anyway, obviously with better graphics etc)

Then there's the emulation scene. There are lists elsewhere over what's available (just look at the downloads section of this site) and assuming you own the original games, you are okay to have the ROM / Images for these ;)