Solder Pads. How Many And What Can They Do?

thoughtcriminal

Still Fresh
Sorry if my questions seem a little noobish, I'm just beginning looking at hardware hacking. What I'm wondering is what kinds of things can be added to the hardware using the solder pads? I'd love to drop in a gps chip and a larger internal flash memory to hold my day to day stuff. I'd imagine this could be done yes? I know I'm not going to put another processor into it using them or anything, but how about more RAM? And theoretically, how much extra stuff can I cram onto the board?
thanks
TC

As far as from what I've read around here, the RAM is hard wired into the system and cannot be upgraded.

And from what craigix has said, the inside of the case is pretty snug so not a lot of room inside.

Chip said:
The RAM is part of the OMAP3530 SoC. It cannot be replaced.
Well, not really a part of it, but the POP design makes it damn difficult to replace :)

Also, last time I checked, the internal flash is the same POP format, and so has the same limitations.

Why would you want a larger internal flash memory anyway? That's what SD cards are for :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Just out of curiosity, what are KP and BL (on the right in the middle)?

atomicthumbs said:
I'd guess that KP is keypad and BL is backlight.

Or Kitchen Patrol and Bi Lovin'. I dunno.
I did think keypad, but all the buttons etc are on the other side of the pcb...perhaps its for a peanut dispenser. I think the backlight is in the LCD as bought from the manufacturer.

look over MWeston's posts, he designed the board.

Go to his profile, choose profile options -> view all posts from this user.

okay, so i am kind of a noob, but I would like the answer to orginal poster's question as well.

It looks like we have:
R2
L2
Battery
External Mic
TV out

Unknown to me:
RS-232
KPBL

I looked up RS232, and it looks like what I would call a 'serial' port, is that true?
I guess KPBL means Keypad Backlight? any confirmation?