Telnet Gp2x


dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
So I am running firmware 2.1.2 or what ever and I cannot telnet. With firmware 2.0.0 I can set up an ip, use ifup to add it, and ping to the device fine. When I try to telnet it just says:

Trying 15.1.1.1...
telnet: connect to address 15.1.1.1: Connection refused

when I try a firmware after 2.0.0 like 2.1.1 or 2.1.2 it will not let me turn on usb networking. When ever I select it and save when I go back to settings it has been turned off. Any ideas? I have the modules loaded that are listed in the wiki as far as I know. The fact that I can set it up and ping to it makes me think that this is something kind of weird. Oh ya I am running Suse 11
 

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
oh sorry ya its an f100. I don't know how to tell if its an mk1 or 2 with out opening it up but the led covers on the front are not clear like my first addition.
 

Hooka

That Guy!
Joined
Jul 19, 2003
Messages
1,745
Age
38
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
Do you have usb host enabled also? You'll have to turn it off (don't know why) but that's one *glitch* I've noticed (atleast I think that might be you're problem as I experienced a similar problem ;) )
 

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
Ya I tried with it turned off and on, but it still won't work. If I can ping to the device fine shouldn't it let me telnet into it? I just think its even more odd that if I use a version of firmware 2 other than 2.0 I cannot even turn on usbnetworking.
 

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
ok sweet the forums back up. ok so telnet is working now but it wont telnet to the gp2x it just keeps doing it to my host machine no matter what I set the IP to. any ideas?
 

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
I set up the ip for the gp2x and then when I try to telnet to it it just connects to the local host. Thats one of the tutorials I was looking at. Here is a print out of what it was doing. It will not let me set the ip until the gp2x is connected and shows up under lsusb. If I try to ping or telnet before setting up the ip it just sits there. After I do get the ip up it will telnet with the ip i set up but it connects to my machine for some reason not the gp2x.

linux-05lh:/home/drock # lsusb
Bus 006 Device 007: ID 0525:a4a2 Netchip Technology, Inc. Linux-USB Ethernet/RNDIS Gadget
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 047d:102d Kensington Pilot Optical
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

linux-05lh:/home/drock # ifconfig usb0 up 10.1.0.1

linux-05lh:/home/drock # ping -c 3 10.1.0.1
PING 10.1.0.1 (10.1.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 10.1.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.064 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.029 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.049 ms

--- 10.1.0.1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1998ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.029/0.047/0.064/0.015 ms

linux-05lh:/home/drock # telnet 10.1.0.1
Trying 10.1.0.1...
Connected to 10.1.0.1.
Escape character is '^]'.

linux-05lh (Linux release 2.6.25.16-0.1-default #1 SMP Fri Oct 3 13:38:40 PDT 2008) (0)

login: root
Password for root:
Error while reading password for 'root'
Login incorrect
login: root
Password for root:
Login incorrect
login: root
Password for root:
Login incorrect
login: root
Password for root:
Error while reading password for 'root'
Login incorrect
login: Login timed out after 300 seconds
Connection closed by foreign host.
 

Parkydr

Developing for the GP2X since 2006
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
1,360
Website
www.parkydr.ezeedsl.co.uk
What is your network card IP address? If it's a 10.x.x.x range (like mine) it's easier to use 192.168.x.x and make it a completely separate network.
 

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
my network card is 192.168.0.x range so I set up the gp2x in the 10.1.0.x range to keep it separated. Ive tried others too but they all seem to give the same results.

edit: well I was actually doing something kind of stupid. I was doing one step wrong, I was setting the ip the same on the gp2x and when I called ipconfig up. Thats why it was logging back into the pc I was using the ip that the pc was linked to. After trying it the correct way, ipconfig up to a different ip ie change the last number and pinging to the ip on the gp2x, I get no response so I am back to where I started.

EDIT: Everyone thank you for your help, I got it working(finally) and the main problem was me...... but really thanks again
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
QUOTE

linux-05lh:/home/drock # ifconfig usb0 up 10.1.0.1

linux-05lh:/home/drock # ping -c 3 10.1.0.1
PING 10.1.0.1 (10.1.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 10.1.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.064 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.029 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.049 ms


By doing ifconfig here you are setting up IP for your PC, and with ping you are just pinging yourself. You have to set up IP address for your GP2X in the GP2X menu (you can use 10.1.0.2 for that), then ping and telnet 10.1.0.2.
 
Top