The programmer's Creed

theweirdn8

What do you think of this:

The Programmer’s Creed

I believe in using programming to making the world a better place.
As technology grows I will grow.
I declare my abilities are not unmatched by other programmers.
Though an expert, I am still a novice.

I believe in the optimization of code.
I believe in constants and global variables
I believe in local and temporary variables

I believe in the ethical use of code
I will not use my code to harm or scam others.
I will not use my code to create viruses or malware.
My code will respect the human rights and dignity of others.

I believe in the open source community
When able to I will post tutorials and help beginners.

I believe in the commercial community
I will not persecute developers for making their projects commercial.

I believe in the standardization of code
I believe in using comment lines in an appropriate way
I confess there is no perfect programming language, the unity of developers and hope for a brighter future with technological advancement.

*You may use this creed on your websites, media, digital and physical print without permission. IF you do, please post in the comment section of places the creed is read and recited*

--

Please note, this is simply one I made myself and I'm looking for developer feedback before creating a more finalized version...

70e177d982b9656dee47ccd32a020ed45459bce6e979354e6a15220eb7de8d5b.jpg

I guess, for developers, this is pretty good set of things to believe

It's a pretty silly creed to adhere to in my opinion (no offense intended if you feel otherwise).

I don't believe in programming, it is a technology which I use to make a living and increase my own comfort.
It is the responsibility of each individual to do so and it is not my plight to create a better place for others.
To stop learning is to stop living in my opinion, this has nothing to do with programming per se.