Thinking Of Buying One

Nikitta

Still Fresh
I was actually looking for something to read ebooks on, which wouldn't hurt my eyes with tiny letters on a tiny display, while still being portable. I have also been thinking of maybe getting a handheld game console, though I'm by no means a hardcore gamer.

Someone recommended the GP2X to me and the more I read about it, the more I think I want one. It seems very nice.

I just wonder

1) How does text look in the ebook reader?

2) From what I read you need some experience to use it, but how much is "some" in this case?
Is it enough to know basically how to connect a device to a computer and transfer what you want to it, or do you need to have programming and/or gaming as a hobby?

Don't get me wrong: I expect to spend some time learning to use it, as with any other new toy and I'm not completely hopeless at that, or with computers. I'm just no expert and I want to make sure that I don't end up buying something which I can't figure out how to use.

So: How much experience do you need to be able to use a GP2X?

Sounds like you'll be fine with it. For most things it's as simple as sliding an SD card into a card reader and copying over the files.

If you choose to, there are more complex activities you can get up to with it, and a couple of the emulators are tricky to set up, but everything is explained pretty well and you just need some patience and willingness to read a readme.txt file. This community is always here to help, too.

As for eBooks, I don't use it much for that but I've heard excellent reports of it. There are also third party text readers made (aside from the built-in one) which allow more flexibility with fonts, wordwrapping, and MP3 playing in the background.

These days you don't need very much, if you can connect a USB cable and know how to copy files across when the GP2X appears in 'My Computer' then you can use the GP2x.