Touchscreen Problems

gahndalf

I got my Pandora today and am having a great time but my touch screen comes and goes....
and mouse with the nubs is not very usable for me.
some times switching between xfce and mini menu will bring it back but not always.
also some games and emus will restore it some times.
any ideas what i should try? Just remember i am a Linux noob with little experience.

Edit: also i would like to know how to turn off the WiFi completley if possible. Thanks!

What problem are you having exactly ? comes and goes ,does this mean it simply stops working ?

click on the pandora icon on the taskbar then choose (system) (toggle wifi) will turn it off completely

the battery usage does not change much doing that. Is the WiFi chip that officiant?

/copydir said:
the battery usage does not change much doing that. Is the WiFi chip that officiant?

I am not sure ,but from talking to other guys i think the wifi could be drawing more cpu power than needed ,make sure your volume control isn't up high if not used high ,turn the screen brightness down a few button presses by holding (fn) key and pressing the (u) (i) keys ,this does make a difference to the battery as i notice when i am charging up if the brightness is down it will charge much faster ,run the cpu at 600 when charging as well so you get some extra power but the battery can charge quick ,i usualy keep wifi on ,but always have bluetooth off ,bluetooth is off by default ,but just saying incase you are using it.

Last edited by a moderator:
i think you are right about the WiFi.
the touchscreen only works sometimes after a reboot or after exiting a program.
most of the time i can't use the touchscreen at all! :angry2:

Have you tried calibrating the touch-screen? With any luck, it might just need you to do that.