Uk Owners Of Gp2x

DBH

Website
nicholas.piresonline.com
Hi all im new here but have been lurkin about for awhile.

I have a quick question for the UK users of the GP2X really just to find out where you purchased the handheld device from as I am trying to get it as cheap as possible (im a student with no job give me a break ;)). I have looked all around and have found the cheapest place selling it to be play-asia and lik-sang.

My only gripe is they are out of UK and I might get slapped with a custom charge as I read a post on the ubuntu forums where some dude in manchester ordered from play-asia and got a £36 custom charge order when it arrived :blink: so as to avoid that I found a cheap EU site doing it for £113 inc delivery but was wondering if any of you guys and gals have ordered from non EU sites... like play-asia or lik-sang and didn't get charged customs taxes. Would appreciate the replies as Im itchin to order one but only at a respectable price.

Thanks.

I ordered my gp2x from play-asia with all the accessories and got hit with a £35 customs charge. But I kinda guessed that it was going to happen, so I did some sums beforehand and it still worked out cheaper than buying it from the uk (or anywhere in the EU that I could find).

GP2X from play-asia = $169.90
+ customs charge = $199.63
=> TOTAL Charge = £108

Incidentally, I ordered it early Monday morning and it arrived on the Thursday so shipping times aren't too long either.

Hope that helps!

You can order from places like play-asia or lik-sang, but if you have any problems, then don't forget you'll have to send it back which will wipe out all your savings and possibly more. Much easier to buy from within the UK and not have to worry about such things.

In the end though, it's all up to you of course.

I agree with xythen, I did the maths and to order from the UK was not worth it.

I ordered GP2x, Case, 1gb card, tv out lead, and power adapter.