Water Damage

primitiveplus

Still Fresh
Hello,

Long, long time lurker; first time poster. I managed to spill about .5 liter of water directly onto my pandora keyboard and screen while it was on. I immediately turned it off, took out the battery, dried out the exterior, and left it upside-down over some paper. I'm at work, and I'll probably dip it into some dried rice once I'm at home, about 4 hours from now, but Is there something else I can do right now to prevent damage?

Yeah.

Don't spill things on it!

No, seriously, you might try a hairdryer on VERY LOW HEAT setting...or no heat setting if you have it....could help dry up some of the liquid.  I'm no electronics engineer, but I don't think that would HARM it any worse than it already is.

I would direct the hairdryer at the keyboard and NOT the LCD...while it is upside down.  And truly NO HEAT setting would be best.  At no heat, I cant see it even harming the LCD, but I would not know for 100 percent sure.

In fact...and I might be wrong, but I suspect the rice would not be a fabulous idea as a grain could get inside where it doesn't belong and cause more problems.

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah.

No, seriously, you might try a hairdryer on VERY LOW HEAT setting...or no heat setting if you have it....could help dry up some of the liquid.  I'm no electronics engineer, but I don't think that would HARM it any worse than it already is.
 You might push the water deeper into the electronics ... If you have access to a wet/dry vaccum you can try to use that to "grab  the water" from the pandora

Oh man, I knew this community was amazing, but I didn't expect such quick replies!

Yeah.

You might push the water deeper into the electronics ... If you have access to a wet/dry vaccum you can try to use that to "grab  the water" from the pandora
I do have access to a wetvac at work! I'll try this out shortly

You can also try to put your pandora in a box( or other closed container) with a very strong desiccant such