What Can You Do With Pandora?

SeriouslyMike

Still Fresh
Allrighty. So, I'm seriously considering getting the Pandora, but I'm curious about doing some extreme things with it (running heavy stuff like GameCube and PS2 emulators - they'll most probably be made sooner or later). OMAP3530's native speed is given in Wikipedia as 720MHz and people here managed to crank it up to 800 MHz without major problems.

The questions are:
1. Can I run WinE or other Windows emulator to run Windows98/XP games?
2. Is there an emulator for Gamecube, PS2 or PSP available for Pandora?
3. How complicated porting Q3 engine games is?
4. Did anyone attempt to port Unreal Engine 2 (UT2003, Splinter Cell, XIII) to Linux? Would it run on Pandora?
5. ...can OpenOffice be installed on Pandora? (yes, I'm serious)

Word of warning: I'm a complete newb when it comes to Linux. I only used it once to un-f*** a laptop so Windows could be installed properly on it.

Hello newbie!
You should start with the wiki, then google
Code:
site:gp32x.de "search-term"
And come back when there are questions left.

:)

Last edited by a moderator:
1) Not possible. Some windows 98/XP games are open source or have open source remakes/implementations of their engine and might run. In general: no.
2) Forget about it.
3) For most: impossible.
4) Is it open source?
5) Sure, no problem.

Seriously Mike said:
Allrighty. So, I'm seriously considering getting the Pandora, but I'm curious about doing some extreme things with it (running heavy stuff like GameCube and PS2 emulators - they'll most probably be made sooner or later). OMAP3530's native speed is given in Wikipedia as 720MHz and people here managed to crank it up to 800 MHz without major problems.

The questions are:
4. Did anyone attempt to port Unreal Engine 2 (UT2003, Splinter Cell, XIII) to Linux? Would it run on Pandora?