Wikipedia For Gp2x?

fargo

Wouldn't be nice to have the whole wikipedia on your gp2x :blink:

I think it is doable given Wikipedia 1.0 Project. The torrent download is about 900MB only. We only need a better e-book reader for gp2x and virtual keyboard for searching maybe.

What do you think?

hell, the whole 2x Wiki on the 2x would be awsome! (but if its anything like 900mb's idk?)

i am absolutely a wikipedia junkie! i think it would be best to start with xreader, instead of starting from scratch. i am a horrible beginner programmer, but i would love to beta-test the hell out of it. i was just thinking yesterday that this needs to be done.

We even can utilize the gp2x' built-in apache and php support for this! Doing so would turn gp2x into a mini portable Wikipedia server :D

A program that could sync up with the real wikipedia would also be interesting =)

Ryan2065 posted on Dec 9 2006 at 09:09 PM said:
A program that could sync up with the real wikipedia would also be interesting =)
Sure, but would be difficult to implement.

The suggestion is to use the "offline" copy of wikipedia.

Last edited by a moderator:
fireflly2442 posted on Dec 9 2006 at 09:46 PM said:
Fargo posted on Dec 9 2006 at 11:52 AM said:
We even can utilize the gp2x' built-in apache and php support for this!
Does it really have this?
Yes :p

cowai posted on Dec 9 2006 at 02:47 PM said:
This is so cool! Who's up for it?
this place never ceases to amaze me. I'm new to this scene though i've been a fan of emulation for years. Every day when i think i've heard/seen the coolest thing/idea for this system someone totally redifines it....i'm having mental orgasms every 24 hours or so

wohoo :) its like having the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy in rl

Ok guys, here is the plan!

I. Requirements:
1) Simple HTML parser engine which can retrieve files from SD, render simple formatting TAGs, and follow links
2) Apache Local Server.
3) Experience in PHP. SQL, and XML
4) Web crawler such as HTTrack