"a Few Months Tweaking The Os And Stuff"

Gricey

Website
www.mikegrice.com
Hi (after posting this in the wrong forum...),

Not done any pandora development, in fact I'm not a software engineer - I'm a UNIX systems engineer/architect/lead by profession.

I know nothing about development on the Pandora, but I could certainly be of help if there anything anything on the OS that needs refining. I have been a user of Linux since 1999 and used it as part of my job since 2001/2. I now design Linux/Solaris based systems (think stuff like email platforms, storage, databases) that have scaled to hundreds of thousands of users, including the managment of them, automation, etc.

Are there areas that need help, and if its something within my skillset, how do I help out? The stuff on the FAQ seems to cover writing software apps and such, not much on the "system" itself.

Cheers
Mike

I suspect what they're doing is getting together the proper versions of software packages and getting everything compiled / linked / tested properly.

It might be hard to help with that, especially since most of us don't have Pandoras.

I think the implication is that when the devices ship, they will not be perfect in terms of the software. ie: Theres no way EDs going to hold up the hardware shipping if the icons are the wrong colour or something, right? ;)