Best Handheld For Emulation

sinkyboy2000

Still Fresh
OK, I know there are a million "should I buy a GP2X?" and "GP2X vs PSP" threads on here, so I apologise in advance for what follows.

As I've said in a previous thread, I was thinking about buying a GP32, and just when I was ready to do so - they went and announced the GP2X. So I waited. I didn't pre-order because I wanted to make sure it lived up to my expectations.

From what I had read of GP32 emulation Atari and Megadrive (genesis) seemed near perfect and some inroads had been made to GBA. GBA seemed to be held back by the limitations of the hardware (which I suppose applied to most other platforms as well).

With an increased spec, I thought perfect SNES and GBA is just round the corner (I'm not very technically minded, so please excuse my ignorance).

Well, a couple of months on from release and Squidgesnes seems (from the thread) to be getting better and better. Just about time for me to buy I was thinking.

Then I read a few posts on here about the PSP emulation scene. Also did a search and discovered that this seems to be booming! Pretty much perfect SNES and advances are being made in to GBA.

I had previously thought it was a no-brainer; "the PSP is for the Commercial market and the GP2X for homebrew and emulation. Sure, there'll be some emulators for the PSP, but the GP2X will be the puppy to have for that sort of thing."

I'm not so sure that's right now. I know you'll all say it's early days for the GP2X and that were getting closer to perfect SNES all the time. But more than a few seem to have expressed the view that it's by no means certain that we'll get there.

So, I'm now thinking about either 1) getting a PSP, or 2) wait a few months and see how things develop for the GP2X.

As you'll probably have gathered, my main reason for getting either would be emulation. Although perfect SNES is what I crave the most, I'm also interested in:-
NES
Master System
Megadrive
Atari
GBA (I know, I know)