Creating Doom Wads

Shirohagen

Brutal Deluxe
Website
richardho.lt
Hi guys

I just read a thread in the Wishlist forum about an Aliens WAD, which I thought was a great idea! I'd love to get my hands dirty and have a go at making a Doom WAD, does anyone have any advice or useful links etc for someone who wants to know more and have a go?

I'm not a great coder, but if making WADs is more like skinning an existing thing and designing the levels then it might be my way in to GP32 participation!

®

You'll need the Doom Editing Utilities (not written by me - just a namesake). Mind you the last time my brother used them (I never bothered) was back in the days of 486s using his 286 (I was away from home at uni with the 486!).

Hmm... I'll have a look with Google for this stuff later, but in the meantime (and don't flame me) are there any resources for the Mac? I run OSX but can use Windows with Virtual PC if I have to...

®

You can get an updated Aliens WAD from my site @

My Webpage

Please note that some of the later levels suffer from "blocking" (where objects are "stuck" in the background) and I will sort out after my weekend break to Amsterdam.

For WAD Editing you need

Wintex 5
XWE (for editing the main Doom WAD)
Zennode - to ensure the integrity of the WAD you're producing (e.g. blocking / reject areas)

Editing is straight forward, swapping grpahics for your own. However with flats (floor tiles) and sprites you need to "add all from iwad" in order to customise them fully.

Hope this helps you.

Also there is an Aliens Versus Predator wad out for Doom2, you can get that from the Doom WAD Station (type this into Google to get to it). This hasnt been converted for GP32 <yet>.

Cheers Lizard.

I dug about a bit on Google and for Mac Users I found a thing called Hellmaker to create WADs on Mac. Not sure where to download it though...

®

This hasnt been converted for GP32

In what way does a conventional Doom WAD differ from a GP32 WAD?