Got A Gp32 Over A Psp. Was I Right?

mrdark

Hey again everybody. As lots of you know, I've been on here a while asking all about the original GP32, which I bought from Ebay a few weeks ago and STILL haven't gotten yet (but should anytime). I've been meaning to use it mainly for emus, since I've been gaming for 20 years and miss those old systems.

But lately I've been hearing a lot of people talk about the Emu potential of the PSP, and some like it better.

Now don't get me wrong- I'm not gonna say I made the wrong choice on a board dedicated to the former. But I'm curious. I mainly want to play Nes, Snes, Genesis, Mame, and Scumm games on my system- that's the main reason I bought this. I paid over $250 for the GP32 with a bunch of free games and discs of goodies thrown in. Seemed like a good price to me.

But speaking of price, the PSP is roughly the same amount, and now I'm hearing about that system being able to do a lot of what I got the GP32 for. Now, I've also heard about the PSP having issues with "dead pixels" and a sticky main button, which turned me off of it for now. But then I also hear about the control stick on the GP32 being funky, with suggestions of soldering and whatnot, which I'm not into doing.

So don't get me wrong, I don't regret my purchase. But looking at things objectively, with what I want out of the system and what each one is capable of and all faults considered, can you guys tell me if I made the right decision or if I should've gotten the PSP?

Remember, I'm not saying one is better- I'm just interested in the opinions of those who had to choose between the two, and what motivated that decision (and if it had to do with the same issues I've brought up). Oh and I'm not regarding the GP2X at all right now- probably a great system but for me a non-issue since I only wanted the best emu system that I could buy right now.

Any insight is appreciated!