Beta Hotfix 4 Very First Beta


EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,794
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
DrCJBoduma said:
MarkoeZ said:
posted using bluetooth :) Finally an easy answer when someone asks "Can it do mobile internet?"
everything else seems to work nice as well.

Care to share how you did this please.

It's damn easy (depending on your phone ;))

If you got a Windows Mobile Smartphone (like HTC, etc.), start Internet Connection Sharing and select to share it via bluetooth.
Enable bluetooth on the Pandora as well and create a connection between them (the Pandora will show you a number which you have to enter on the phone. Only needed for the first time you connect your phone with the Pandora).
In the last step of the bluetooth connection setup on the Pandora, there will be a small box which says that it should use the phone for internet connection. Tick this!

Finally, once the connection is established, there's a PANU device in the network manager. Connect to that and you got mobile internet :)
 
Last edited:

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,167
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
Will there be also a new Kernel included for the Pandora in this (or next) Hotfix? AFAIK we still have this old Linux Kernel running onto the Pandora with no optimized Hardware-Support. ^^
 

DrCJBoduma

Active Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2006
Messages
509
Age
46
Location
England
Website
Visit site
EvilDragon said:
DrCJBoduma said:
MarkoeZ said:
posted using bluetooth :) Finally an easy answer when someone asks "Can it do mobile internet?"
everything else seems to work nice as well.

Care to share how you did this please.

It's damn easy (depending on your phone ;) )

If you got a Windows Mobile Smartphone (like HTC, etc.), start Internet Connection Sharing and select to share it via bluetooth.
Enable bluetooth on the Pandora as well and create a connection between them (the Pandora will show you a number which you have to enter on the phone. Only needed for the first time you connect your phone with the Pandora).
In the last step of the bluetooth connection setup on the Pandora, there will be a small box which says that it should use the phone for internet connection. Tick this!

Finally, once the connection is established, there's a PANU device in the network manager. Connect to that and you got mobile internet :)




thanks for the responses, i guess it's my phone that is the problem then. I have the INQ mini phone which doesn't seem to have easy set up for this kind of thing. nevermind might have to upgrade my phone then at some point in the future.


CJ
 
Last edited by a moderator:

joseluisjazz

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
399
This is weird. So the middle button didn't work for me and then I notice the normal copy paste stopped working too. ten minutes later they both work and I didn't even reboot or anything. I might have closed the lid for a moment, though. So it seems it's solved I don't know how... until the next poltergeist.
 

tsh

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
775
Location
Cambridge
Website
Visit site
EvilDragon said:
It's using IPKs, so it will install the kernel on /boot/
If /boot/ is on your SD Card and has enough space free (should be at least 10 MB of size), then it should install it on your card.
This is also how it should've been setup.
So for me, this fails when it tries to df /boot. This is what I have mounted
Code:
tsh-op:/mnt/utmp/updater4.openpandora.org$ df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root             15413168   5117952   9512268  35% /
tmpfs                       40         0        40   0% /mnt/.splash
none                    124452       220    124232   0% /dev
/dev/mmcblk1p1        15549952  11378624   4171328  73% /media/MEDIA
/dev/mmcblk0p1        15413168   5117952   9512268  35% /media/SYSTEM
tmpfs                   124452      4612    119840   4% /var/volatile
tmpfs                   124452       140    124312   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs                   124452         0    124452   0% /media/ram
ubi0:rootfs             466332    374544     91788  80% /media/nand
/dev/loop0               23552     23552         0 100% /mnt/pnd/updater4.openpandora.org
none                  15413168   5117952   9512268  35% /mnt/utmp/updater4.openpandora.org
/dev/loop1               24064     24064         0 100% /mnt/pnd/chromium
none                  15413168   5117952   9512268  35% /mnt/utmp/chromium
(I thought df was supposed to report the mountpoint of a path, but not at the moment.)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ljones

Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
220
Just tried hotfix 4, all went well with the update but firefox 3.6.7 no longer works x.x it either dosen't display any windows or gives an error about not responding.

ljones
 

tsh

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
775
Location
Cambridge
Website
Visit site
The set date script now fails to run. It has a spare backtick (which is I guess why I should have used a proper git patch, but I still need to work out how to drive git)
/usr/pandora/scripts/op_datetime.sh
Code:
14c14
< date_m=`date +%m | sed 's/^0//'`
---
> date_m=`date +%m`| sed 's/^0//'`
 

jdbye

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
242
tsh said:
Android won't do BT DUN (at least 2.2 stock, rooted it is possible)
PDAnet has BT DUN and doesn't require root.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tsh

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
775
Location
Cambridge
Website
Visit site
Jdbye said:
tsh said:
Android won't do BT DUN (at least 2.2 stock, rooted it is possible)
PDAnet has BT DUN and doesn't require root.
I tried that, and couldn't get it to work. Have you tried it with a Pandora?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mjlink

ithic.com
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
894
Age
46
Location
Bernie Sanders' Land
Website
www.ithic.com
Did anyone notice a change in appearance overall?

To me and my girl (who plays the Pandora more than I do) it seemed as if the colors got a bit crisper and clear.

Maybe it was all the hash.

Peace & Pandora,

Link

PS Anyone who has a Droid Incredible and has been able to Tether to the Pandora WITHOUT being a Rooted SuperUser, let me know.... I'm about to take it back and get a Palm Pre so I don't have to pay for some stupid data plan etc. Fuck AT&T and Verizon.
 

EmuGuy

Member
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
320
Location
Saskatchewan, Canada
Website
Visit site
tsh said:
The set date script now fails to run. It has a spare backtick (which is I guess why I should have used a proper git patch, but I still need to work out how to drive git)
/usr/pandora/scripts/op_datetime.sh
Code:
14c14
 < date_m=`date +%m | sed 's/^0//'`
 ---
 > date_m=`date +%m`| sed 's/^0//'`

Yes I edited mine again as per the other thread, but now it only lets me pick a timezone, then I hit ok and it quits...?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PokeParadox

Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
6,575
Age
37
Location
UK
Website
pokeparadox.itch.io
WEBSITE
https://github.com/pokeparadox
YOUTUBE
pokeparadox
ok I applied this and... no problems.
I then decided to try sudo opkg update...
Then I got a message that no space was left and following that I now get a blank screen on boot. :S

I thought it was ok to update through the package program with this hotfix?
 

tsh

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
775
Location
Cambridge
Website
Visit site
PokeParadox said:
I thought it was ok to update through the package program with this hotfix?
No, I think that was the wrong interpretation. The updater uses opkg (with pre-downloaded packages) in order to perform the updates, but seemingly isn't pointing us to a new pandora specific repo.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,794
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
We're still preparing feeds, so doing an opkg update and opkg upgrade will still use the Angström feeds and might break your system!

Please wait until we release information about the feeds.

So far, our feeds are working well - but we have no feeds yet for the restricted codecs, so once you update from our feeds, movies won't play anymore.
Once this has been fixed by us, the feeds will be ready for public testing.

Note: If you don't care about the community codec pack and want to use the latest feeds by us (updated whenever we update some scripts :)), please contact me.
 

PokeParadox

Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
6,575
Age
37
Location
UK
Website
pokeparadox.itch.io
WEBSITE
https://github.com/pokeparadox
YOUTUBE
pokeparadox
EvilDragon said:
We're still preparing feeds, so doing an opkg update and opkg upgrade will still use the Angström feeds and might break your system!

Please wait until we release information about the feeds.

So far, our feeds are working well - but we have no feeds yet for the restricted codecs, so once you update from our feeds, movies won't play anymore.
Once this has been fixed by us, the feeds will be ready for public testing.

Note: If you don't care about the community codec pack and want to use the latest feeds by us (updated whenever we update some scripts :) ), please contact me.
Well you may want to put a warning to hold off from updating via opkg directly! :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

God Ginrai

Godmaster
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
5,466
Website
Visit site
Mjlink said:
Did anyone notice a change in appearance overall?

To me and my girl (who plays the Pandora more than I do) it seemed as if the colors got a bit crisper and clear.

Maybe it was all the hash.

Peace & Pandora,

Link

PS Anyone who has a Droid Incredible and has been able to Tether to the Pandora WITHOUT being a Rooted SuperUser, let me know.... I'm about to take it back and get a Palm Pre so I don't have to pay for some stupid data plan etc. Fuck AT&T and Verizon.

You're going Sprint? Also, Bluetooth tethering only works if you have internet, which a data plan gives you. o.o

-God Ginrai
 
Last edited by a moderator:

levi1123

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
430
still cant BT adhoc with Win7 Lappy. No DHCP offer recieved on Bnep0 and I cant setup ICS with the BT PAN.. Unless im doing it wrong, in which case someone please point me in the right directon =)
 

lucidchaos

Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
104
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Website
Visit site
Mjlink said:
PS Anyone who has a Droid Incredible and has been able to Tether to the Pandora WITHOUT being a Rooted SuperUser, let me know.... I'm about to take it back and get a Palm Pre so I don't have to pay for some stupid data plan etc. Fuck AT&T and Verizon.

Just FYI it is possible to add mobile hotspot to a Sprint Pre for no additional monthly charge. Mine is working like a champ with the Pandora.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top