• Nope. It's not worth it

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Nope. It's not my sort of thing

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

ledow

Website
www.ledow.org.uk
I'm posting to gauge the interest that there would be in a competition, run by me, to design pretty splashscreens, backgrounds etc. for my port of some puzzle games: STPPC2x.

I'm hopeless at art-y stuff, but wouldn't ask people to do lots of hard work on my behalf without at least having fun, or winning something. They'd probably be quite minor prize(s), but I haven't decided yet what it/they would be - I work in IT, so I have a lot of stuff lying about that might be useful for someone, although nothing GP2X-related that I would want to part with, but if I get a lot of interest I might make it a half-decent prize like a couple of new SD cards, or a TV-Out cable or something like that, maybe even a bit of money via Paypal if the entrant didn't live in the UK. Any "winners" would be able to negotiate on what their prize would be, though - and I was wondering if a small competition would get enough entries to make it worth my while.

I've drawn up a load of rules etc. but I want to see if enough people would "enter". If only two people enter, both with crappy entries, then I'd hate to feel obliged to use their designs or say "you've won but I'm not using your design".

It would be quite a simple task, with a lot of scope, and quite open to a lot of people - anything from "design a monochrome mouse cursor" to "design a 320x240x16bit splashscreen". All entries would be treated equally on the basis of the hard work that had gone into it and how much I liked it, so it's perfectly possible that a particularly cool cursor would beat a hundred crappy entries for the splashscreen.