Is Armagetron Advanced port necessary for Pandora support?

Soup's

Still Fresh
Hi, I'm new here! I've Just learned about the Pandora only today, and I'm still reading awesome things about it! I know it's open source and can run-Oh, who am I kidding, I'm still a complete noob when it comes to this. :p Anyways, It has the power to run PSX, N64, and all that, and I have two questions, just because I'm curious. Theoretically, does the Pandora Have the power to run DS games full speed(that was something I just thought of)? And also, I've been wondering about this one for a whopping 10 minutes...There's this Open source Tron clone(It's called Armagetron Advanced: http://armagetronad.net/) that runs on Linux, Mac OS X, and Windows. Does it need to be ported(stupid question), or can I just stick it onto my SD card with limited problems? Okay, now you know that I have no Idea what I'm talking about :D

EDIT: And no, I'm not a bot. :|

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello Soup's:

Welcome to the forums.

At the moment (possibly forever) the Pandora isn't able to emulate the DS at any reasonable framerate. As for Armagetron Advanced, there's a bit more to getting software to work. Pandora has a different processor than laptops/desktops (ARM, commonly found in smartphones and tablets) and the game would need to be recompiled specifically for the ARM processor/architecture. And even then, some changes may need to be made for the screen resolution, graphics, etc. Certainly possible, and there are many devs around who do port games such as that. But it's a tiny bit more than just downloading the application from Armagetron Advanced's site.

Also, GLtron (which appears to be similar) was just ported today by lunixbochs. You can find a whole host of games and other software up on the repo (repo.openpandora.org) that have already been ported.