Release Java PND

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by WizardStan, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    What debug info are you talking about?
     
  2. sswam

    sswam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,392
    All the stuff you "echo" in the /usr/bin/java script.  Ideally if I run "/usr/bin/java -version" it should output exactly the same as if I run "/mnt/utmp/java/bin/java -version" or whatever it is.

    If I'm running some tool written in java that writes data on stdout, I would not want the debug messages mixed up with that...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2013
  3. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    Ah, I see now, fair enough. I didn't really consider those debug messages as much as actual info messages, but I can see your point. I'll build up some more libraries next week and do another release without those messages.
     
  4. A2000

    A2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Just tried 7u21 as it was the version I could find first to download. Started jCloisterZone without problems.
     
  5. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    Wow, that was a quick release cycle, seems like there's been several updates in the past few weeks. I'll update it next week as well, or with whatever happens to be latest at the time.
     
  6. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    OK I have an issue with a .jar file i'd like to run

    I get the following error:


    auplink:plink.c:223: AUFS_CTL_PLINK_MAINT: Inappropriate ioctl for device
    Is this a library problem (missing from the current PND?) or something else?

    Appreciate any help on this.
     
  7. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    That's an error in the aufs, the unionFS which mounts PNDs and their appdata directory together. It signifies a problem with the system itself. Do you have any problems with other PNDs? Have you tried a restart?
     
  8. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,219
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    That error always occurs at least once during the unmounting process,  and means nothing in regards to the program you are trying to run.

    - Neelix
     
  9. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    Nope, no issue, and that jar file runs without any issue on my PC. Is there any way I can debug the problem ?
     
  10. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    Updated the java.pnd. Fixed some problems with the OpenJDK classpath, updated the Oracle Java to 1.7.0_21, and added javac to the installer. Rerun the installer, select the Oracle Java, and you will be able to compile directly on the Pandora. Tested with some example Swing codes.

    It would be nice to know how you're running it and what the error is. That aufs error is probably a red herring.
     
  11. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,986
    What am I doing wrong ?

    I deleted the appdata/java (just to be sure) and installed the new version (Oracle).

    Then I try to launch a .jar with the command "java" as I always done, but doesn't work... I see that the java.pnd is mounted in the process, but the .jar doesn't start...

    EDIT:

    Tried with a terminal, and I see "Error: Could not find or load main class <filename>.jar"

    <filename> because it tells the same thing with every jar I tried, but were working before

    EDIT:

    JdiskReport PND works without issues... seems like the problem is just for jar files

    EDIT:

    ===== SOLVED =====

    I added the "-jar" argument, I didn't remember I was using it

    EDIT:

    Oh, by the way, THANKS for the update :D

    Used it a bit but seems faster than before
    -_-

    Did you know ?!

    You can launch a .jar file simply launching from a terminal "java -r filename.jar" !!

    Enjoy !!

    :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 13, 2013
  12. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Italy
  13. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Italy
    I was experimenting with java and i need to repackage a test program in jar format...but inside iava.pnd the JAR command was not present so...

    i have repackaged the java.pnd with currently updated version from Oracle (Java 1.7.0_40 soft-float) adding JAR command into pnd to be able to package/repackage of .jar files with pandora and fixed a bug in disinstall process (before javac was left in /usr/bin of Nand after disinstall).

    Feel free to test and if WizardStan think is done right could upload to the Repo.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ys8xhaizui5i76e/java.pnd
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2013
  14. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    What do you mean "JAR command was not present"? Does it not work? It used to, I can take a look to figure out what I broke.

    In the meantime you can always simply run "java -jar <filename.jar>" to test your package.

    Thanks for pointing out the uninstall bug. javac is a new feature, I only tested the install but didn't even think of the uninstall.

    I'll also look into libGDX. Hopefully it will work better than lwjgl.
     
  15. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,490
    Well there is  the "jar" command that is used to generate, update and extract data from jar files(Not run them).. I didn't think that was missing, but I could be wrong.
     
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2013
  16. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    No, I created the "Run JAR file" application in the Accessories menu. It brings up a dialog for you to select a .jar file and then runs it with the openJDK. I guess I could even update it now to use either OpenJDK or Oracle Java, user choice.

    I can't test right now, but it as far as I know it has been working since release 1.0. I did get pretty sloppy with my upgrades though, only testing the java and javaws with each release, so I probably broke it and never noticed.
     
  17. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,087
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    Hi WizardStan,

    have you tried to recompile Java with LinuxBochs OpenGL Files?

    Maybe then can we run easily much 3D Java Games ;)
     
  18. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Italy
    I was referring to this http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/deployment/jar/build.html

    If you want to package a project just compiled in .jar format you need the jar command.

    This command was already present onto the pnd (even earlier versions i think) in jdk/bin directory but was never installed properly inside pandora nand.

    Now i only added a script (directly inspired by your work on java, javaws, javac) to install the jar file (is a script that point to the jar file inside the pnd) so we are able to create such .jar packages.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2013
  19. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,690
    Oh, ahah! Now I understand, sorry. A little slow sometimes :p

    Yeah, this is fine. Maybe not worth a full update yet, no point in people downloading an entire 100MB file just to get this tiny little script, but I'll be sure it's in for the next update... which is apparently now anyway. 1.7.40 is available. In both hard and soft floats, now that's clever.

    I'll get it tonight and test it, package it up for either tomorrow or Saturday.
     
  20. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Italy
    Don't worry :) maybe caused by my english explanation.

    if you want could use my pnd to upload to the repo (i have updated the pxml too..feel free to check before ,maybe i have broken some info)
     

Share This Page

Loading...