Let's think about a killer game...

Kev2442

Still French
Hi everybody,

I'm quite the newbie here as I just registered today, although I've been reading the blog for somewhat 5 months and I'm totally buying one.

There's one thing the Pandora was missing (and one of the reasons I never had one), and that's a killer game.

As a reminder, a "killer game" is, like a killer app, a game which is the one game you should have on your console.

For example, Halo or Fable on the original XBOX.

I've never seen such a thing on the Pandora. Its games are mostly open source ports like Tux Racing and emulated classics.

Maybe we should do more.

I know it's not anywhere near an easy thing, but it wouldn't hurt to try something.

I don't know, maybe a good racing game (always lacking on smartphones and handhelds, except for Mario Kart-likes) or a FPS (very popular to date).

This way, we could send people a message, clearly showing "This is what Pyra is capable of, and here's why you can't have it : you don't own one. Yet.".

We would have both quite a benchmark and an original game, attracting more and more gamers.

A console's sales are made on its games, and frankly, I haven't seen anything on the OpenPandora except for some 2D games.

So how would we do so ?

I'm willing to help as much as I can. But we would need a whole lotta Rosie help.

Maybe we could first try to port a big and powerful engine like Unity.

Maybe we could also make our own.

Maybe the engine could be open source, allowing for more and more devs using and enhancing it.

But we need 3D. And a really good one.

Let's show the world the Pyra's very guts. ;)

P.S. : I know I'm a little enthusiastic over here, and that's kinda crazy. But I just had to share my thoughts.

I think this is a great idea. There's not many games out there that show the power of a portable device (specifically open source) with high resolution textures and EXCELLENT gameplay.