Nintendo Gives European Wii Price


itsme

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
148
Ganepark32 posted on Aug 31 2006 at 11:37 AM said:
The Wii does not and will not possess any form of HDMI output. As for DVI, not sure what that is but from what I've read, it won't possess this output either.

DVI is all we, consumers, need. HDMI is just a tool for publishers to sell the same movies 200 times to us with heavy copy protection scheme; there is NO benefit for consumers regarding HDMI.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Fishbong

man of poor reputation
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,730
Age
35
Location
Hildesheim, Germany.
Website
Visit site
http://www.videogamesblogger.com/2006/08/3...enshot-info.htm

Its going to be called "Far Cry: Vengeance" Will support 480p, widescreen etc.

far-cry-vengeance-wii.jpg
 

xafier

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
313
Age
36
Location
Sheffield, England
Website
www.xafiers-home.com
I want a Wii!!

I think I'm definitly going to have to get me a Wii, it by far sounds the most interesting console, and it's been a while since I've bought a Nintendo console... N64 was the last... it's going to be really awesome to play N64 and SNES games on it, and I'll also be able to pickup and play some gamecube games that I never got round to playing cos I didnt have one...

might even start looking on ebay and game stores that sell 2nd hand games and grab me some cheap before they most likely go up again once a new console is out that plays them... hmm dunno...

I read somewhere that the Wii will be playable on a PC monitor, but where I read that I'm not sure, but that would assume it has DVI or VGA output... which would be nice... but it was probably some bogus information... guess we'll have to wait and see...

signed up for notifcation from play.com for when they get info on price and pre-orders :D
 

grahf

MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
863
Age
40
Location
From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
Website
Visit site
xafier posted on Sep 9 2006 at 11:09 AM said:
I read somewhere that the Wii will be playable on a PC monitor, but where I read that I'm not sure, but that would assume it has DVI or VGA output... which would be nice... but it was probably some bogus information... guess we'll have to wait and see...

You can easily mod a gamecube component cable to work with a VGA monitor. (or buy one, at a place like http://www.goldenshop.com.hk/AI-trad/gc/vgacable.htm ). It only works with progressive scan games, which is most of them. I think it would be safe to assume that the Wii will work with a PC monitor, and that all the games will support progressive scan.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PokeParadox

Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
6,575
Age
37
Location
UK
Website
pokeparadox.itch.io
WEBSITE
https://github.com/pokeparadox
YOUTUBE
pokeparadox
grahf posted on Sep 9 2006 at 06:57 PM said:
xafier posted on Sep 9 2006 at 11:09 AM said:
I read somewhere that the Wii will be playable on a PC monitor, but where I read that I'm not sure, but that would assume it has DVI or VGA output... which would be nice... but it was probably some bogus information... guess we'll have to wait and see...

You can easily mod a gamecube component cable to work with a VGA monitor. (or buy one, at a place like http://www.goldenshop.com.hk/AI-trad/gc/vgacable.htm ). It only works with progressive scan games, which is most of them. I think it would be safe to assume that the Wii will work with a PC monitor, and that all the games will support progressive scan.

And only on NTSC games... since the PAL games (alas) don't come progressive enabled... (Yes I'm soooo annoyed about this... The PAL GameCube has the digital port and everthing to do Progressive Scan, it's just the software that doesn't >_>)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

xafier

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
313
Age
36
Location
Sheffield, England
Website
www.xafiers-home.com
PokeParadox posted on Sep 9 2006 at 07:21 PM said:
And only on NTSC games... since the PAL games (alas) don't come progressive enabled... (Yes I'm soooo annoyed about this... The PAL GameCube has the digital port and everthing to do Progressive Scan, it's just the software that doesn't >_>)

surely its possible for PAL games to be progressive on the Wii though? I'd really like to use my monitor to play on cos it's a lot better than my little TV... I got one of those VGA box type things but it was utter crap made half my PS2 games look like turd :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PokeParadox

Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
6,575
Age
37
Location
UK
Website
pokeparadox.itch.io
WEBSITE
https://github.com/pokeparadox
YOUTUBE
pokeparadox
Hopefully... You have to remember that when the Game Cube came out in the UK (and the rest of Europe?) we didn't even have HDTV... so logically it didn't make sense for the software to support it. Which is why newer models of the Cube had the DigitalAV removed...

Hopefully they will at least give u the option this time :)
 

grahf

MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
863
Age
40
Location
From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
Website
Visit site
Xafier, some of those vga boxes are crap. There are some nice ones out there, but unless your giving it a good input (like raw RGB) it wont produce a decent picture on your monitor.

And pokeparadox, you should invest in a modchip such as the Qoob SX. It allows you to force 480p mode. Some games dont work, but most do. I just installed one the other day.
 

Ravnos

Asleep in Samsara
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
2,499
Age
38
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
Website
Visit site
grahf posted on Sep 9 2006 at 04:33 PM said:
Xafier, some of those vga boxes are crap. There are some nice ones out there, but unless your giving it a good input (like raw RGB) it wont produce a decent picture on your monitor.

And pokeparadox, you should invest in a modchip such as the Qoob SX. It allows you to force 480p mode. Some games dont work, but most do. I just installed one the other day.
Grahf, can you recommend a good vga box? I recently got a free monitor from a co-worker and I want to use it so I can play games while the gf is watching TV.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PokeParadox

Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
6,575
Age
37
Location
UK
Website
pokeparadox.itch.io
WEBSITE
https://github.com/pokeparadox
YOUTUBE
pokeparadox
grahf posted on Sep 9 2006 at 11:33 PM said:
Xafier, some of those vga boxes are crap. There are some nice ones out there, but unless your giving it a good input (like raw RGB) it wont produce a decent picture on your monitor.

And pokeparadox, you should invest in a modchip such as the Qoob SX. It allows you to force 480p mode. Some games dont work, but most do. I just installed one the other day.

Nice... I just might do that... of course I need a screen to support the progressive mode, but hey... yeah.
(Before I was going to connect it to my Destop monitor... Now I'm stuck with just my laptop so I can't really conntect the cube to a nice screen atm)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

grahf

MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
863
Age
40
Location
From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
Website
Visit site
Ravnos posted on Sep 9 2006 at 07:13 PM said:
Grahf, can you recommend a good vga box? I recently got a free monitor from a co-worker and I want to use it so I can play games while the gf is watching TV.

The XRGB line is great, IMO. There is a nice one on ebay right now: http://cgi.ebay.com/XRGB-2-Plus-Upscan-Con...1QQcmdZViewItem
Its a pretty good deal considering it comes with both PS2 and Gamecube cables ready to go. If you want the best possible picture, things can get a little pricey. You can dig up a lot of great info at the gamesx.com forums.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

xafier

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
313
Age
36
Location
Sheffield, England
Website
www.xafiers-home.com
hmm I wonder whether the Wii will also have Gameboy and/or GBA games to buy and play on it? they mention NES, SNES, N64 and a selection of Sega games... but there are some good GB and GBA games that would be cool to have on it too :)
 

Fishbong

man of poor reputation
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,730
Age
35
Location
Hildesheim, Germany.
Website
Visit site
176 bucks? That´s damn expensive... you could buy a decent used 19" TV for that price.

I am very interested in buying a VGA Box too, because i´m moving next week to my Uni and won´t have a TV there. I have a headmounted display, however it sucks for console games, i mainly use it with my GP2X and as a nightvision with an IR camera.
 

grahf

MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
863
Age
40
Location
From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
Website
Visit site
Fishbong posted on Sep 11 2006 at 08:51 AM said:
Do you think this would do the trick with a PS2?

If you have a component cable for ps2, then yeah it will probably work for you. Its really impossible to say what quality picture you'll get since you dont know what components that box is built with. Chances are it will be satisfactory. If it was me, i would buy it.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Fishbong

man of poor reputation
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,730
Age
35
Location
Hildesheim, Germany.
Website
Visit site
Yeah, but it states "new model PS2" I have a quite new PStwo (V14) so i think it should work, but it says the device has to support progressive scan and since some PS2 games dont support progressive scan i´m not sure wether it will work with those...
 

grahf

MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
863
Age
40
Location
From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
Website
Visit site
Under the "Accepted Scanning" section, it has 480i/576i listed. I would email the seller to double check.
The the problem is, that your still just ouputting a 480i signal with most ps2 games. Very few of them support 480p. Basically that means that your not going to get much better than tv quality picture on a monitor.

There is another adapter ive seen, which is the Blaze VGA adapter. It has a specific plug on it for PS2 (they make a dreamcast one also). The advantage to the Blaze VGA adapter, is that it comes with a boot disk to force 480p. Some games use a 640x480 framebuffer (480p), and then downsample and interlace the output. If it does whats advertised, then i would look into going with one of these. The only downside is that you can only use it with the PS2.
 

KoH

Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
186
Nintendo will launch its new Wii console on 2 December in Japan, the group has said.

The Japanese electronics giant confirmed the machine would be priced at 25,000 yen ($212.5; £113) or less.

Nintendo declined to reveal when it would be releasing the machine in the US and UK but said US buyers would pay no more than $250 for it.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/5344510.stm


i like the price!
 

xafier

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
313
Age
36
Location
Sheffield, England
Website
www.xafiers-home.com
like to bet it sells for about £150 here in the UK, we always end up paying a bit more to ship to this little island of ours! :( still £550 - £150 = £400 to spend on games before its the cost of the PS3! even with the most expensive games thats 10 games and a console :)
 
Top