Open Source h264 codec (from Cisco)

Could be interesting. I would also be interested in a DSP implementation of h264 - I think there's one somewhere on TI's website.

Could be interesting. I would also be interested in a DSP implementation of h264 - I think there's one somewhere on TI's website.
I have no experience with codecs, let's say I compile this, how do you even use this h264 codec afterwards? 
Typically a codec is implemented as a library (/usr/lib/libsomething.so) that is used by players and encoders.

I have no experience with codecs, let's say I compile this, how do you even use this h264 codec afterwards? 
Typically a codec is implemented as a library (/usr/lib/libsomething.so) that is used by players and encoders.
That, I expected as much, but how would you ensure that mplayer, for example, uses that library you compiled instead of another one for h264 ?

The stock h264 was open source for ages and has real heavy NEON optimizations, I don't understand what's the purpose of this project really.

I don't understand what's the purpose of this project really.
Clearance of patent issues. Cisco pays the maximum amount of license fees for this certain implementation, so everyone can legally use and redistribute it. The downside is of course that Cisco needs to apply all changes themselves, as it's only their binary that is affected.

Last edited by a moderator:
Clearance of patent issues. Cisco pays the maximum amount of license fees for this certain implementation, so everyone can legally use and redistribute it. The downside is of course that Cisco needs to apply all changes themselves, as it's only their binary that is affected.
Interesting. So the Pandora could ship with this (or a derivative)?