Out Of Ten!

GpDogg

The gp2x is great looking, i was very happy with my gp32. but im a student, dont got much cash. so i sold the gp32 to get some much needed funds.
Once i did that, i managed to get myself a gp2x.

I cant actually open the gp2x until christmas day, which is great really because it seems out of all the research that i did, that its not really worth opening it now anyway.

I mean, BASICALLY the gp2x is not as good as the gp32 is right now at all. At least, thats what i hear everyone says!

Are there people here which actually think that the gp2x is like UTTERLY worth getting right now, opening it up and not have lame excuses like "but, its black and stuff will be avaliable SOON".

Everything will be good when the firmware is done properly, and the battery, joystick and all that atuff is sorted.
What i wanna know is, how much you would actually rate the gp2x out of ten as it is NOW. Not like "when the firmware is updated". Pretend that the firmware will NEVER be updated...

I wanna know this coz im SOOO excited to open it up and test some stuff, but i dont wanna blow my load and update it and end up making it worse like most people have.

SO, exactly how much do you rate the gp2x now?

Video playing vs. GP32

15/10

(after TV out, it will literally blow away any other portable for playing divx)
(and if an external HD will eventually work with the USB Host, it will be the best player- bar none.)

Game playing

8/10

(that is just now, there are so many projects in the works, the HW blitter/2D accelerator is even winCE compatible and if you check the dev forum it is so accelerated we may even see HD gaming sometime.)

The games right now aren't bad, but with the RAM and Speed and extra storage and extra processor, and 2D accelerator games will be awesome.

The firmware WILL be updated, even if GPH disappeared tomorrow, the Devs would continue on with an alternate loader and HH mode devkit and everything would be even better :D