Possibility of software installation on external storage outside of Pyra

Borrubo

Still Fresh
Just a short question. I'm quite new to linux and the forum, so apologies in advance if this is a stupid question, or answered elsewere.
I read that it should be possible; or already is, to install software on to removable usb or sd cards. Is this done by a new packaging system? If so, does it work with apt or apt-get? And also if so, would it be possible to use this outside of the Pyra project? For example on some other linux handheld (pocketchip) with limited internal storage. You shouldn't be able to use the same repositories, because of different processor architectures, but the question in short, how much is the work on this solution usable on other hardware - architectures?
Thanks in advance :)

There's three main ways to accomplish it. The first is to simply install software on an external media, add it to PATH and LDPATH, and just use it like that. The system package manager won't know anything about it, so there's that. The second is to move that part of the system (for example, the entire /usr directory). This means the majority of the space used by software is moved to external media, and the system package manager will make use of it. The downside is that removing the media will result in a horribly broken system.