Potential ARM (Non X86) SoC alternatives

Grench

Forum Addict!
There has been a lot of fear and controversy surrounding the recent presentation and consideration of the Intel X86 based Z3770 as a potential alternative for a Pandora successor.

Let's leave all of that for another thread(s).

For this thread, let's discuss part availability, capabilities, performance, performance per watt for the ARM alternatives.

Later, after one or more ARM champions are found, in another thread, we can discuss the relative strengths and weaknesses of all viable potential solutions.

I am not an expert on any SoC.  I've seen lots of product announcements over the last few months for Apple, Samsung and other ARM SoCs, but parts availability and datasheet type information and benchmarks seem to be a bit scarce.

So, ARM proponents, what's out there that we should be looking at?

Mods - if you have the time or inclination, please edit the thread title?

Maybe: Potential ARM (Non X86) SoC alternatives.  I should have put ARM in there, but can no longer edit the thread title.

Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
As far as on-topic, I would love the Exynos 5 Octa, but the previous thread about it showed that, while it is ARM, it spits out heat like an x86. So it too would require a fan or extensive heat sync, which, as I understand it, the low-power operation of an ARM chip is one of the main draws of ARM basically completely negating any appeal of the Exynos 5 Octa. Shame, really.

You can edit the title yourself by clicking Edit next to your post, then clicking the "Use Full Editor" button. Then you can clarify whether you're talking just ARM or all Non-X86 SoCs

Here are the ones that aren't an option:

Samsung: Originally said they'd give ED Exynos 5250 (but not anything nicer/newer) then retracted it because they decided it's too much of a risk.

Qualcomm: Doesn't even talk to someone like ED

MediaTek: Said no way to Linux drivers happening

Ones that haven't been ruled out: