[SOLVED] New Pandora, Problem Logging In

kennyk

Still Fresh
Hi I just got my pandora, and when I log on, it gives me this message:
Could not look up internet address for Kenny's Pandora. This will prevent xfce from operating correctly. It may be possible to correct the problem by adding Kenny's Pandora to the file /usr/hosta on your system.

I am very new to linux, but I found the file, and it did have my pandora's name in it. Could my problem be the apostrophe in it causing trouble? As of right now, its verry buggy, and no pnds will launch except stock ones. Can anyone please help me? I just want to get started with my pandora. I tried getting the hotfix, but it wont launch.

Thanks for any help,
ken

To my knowledge, you need to reflash, as the error you mention used to crop up early on with bad flashes. The instructions for this are here. The bugginess you mention also suggests that this may be the problem, and I would guess that it's actually unrelated to the name you chose for your unit.

As an aside, yes, as you're told during first boot, you shouldn't use an apostrophe or a space in the name you give your system, so make sure you stick to letters and hyphens only once the reflash completes (I can't remember off-hand whether numbers are also allowed). ;)

Last edited by a moderator:
Host names with spaces and apostrophes will just plain break *everything*. You should re-install and set up your host name with - and _ chars, if you need to, or just give it a very simple name..

Thanks for all the help, I'm going to try this tonight. Then I can play some Mario RPG.
Thanks again

torpor said:
Host names with spaces and apostrophes will just plain break *everything*. You should re-install and set up your host name with - and _ chars, if you need to, or just give it a very simple name..
If this is a Problem for the system, why it allows it such Names at first? Logicaly it should notice the User, if he is choosing a wrong character. User-friendly 'n stuff. ;)