Voltage Regulator Mess ...


nik166

:3 :3 :3
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
516
Location
french S/W
hi, i seem to have a voltage regulator problem, the GP works only from the PSU, and only shows a white screen with some lines if i run it from battery , the green light also fades out immediately


it already happened, i could "fix" with a good spanking, but it doesn't work anymore obviously, the led fading changes, but nothing more ... i've been told it's a voltage regulator problem, so anybody knows more about it and how to really fix it?
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
34
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
when shakeing the unit helped its probably a cold solder joint or bend battery springs, check if the batterys sit tight.
 

nik166

:3 :3 :3
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
516
Location
french S/W
battery is ok, and the power goes to the screen anyway it's WHITE, not blank: backlight on and a few color lines appearing...
 

nik166

:3 :3 :3
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
516
Location
french S/W
it's quite much out of warranty :D

if it can be fixed, then it can probably be my myself too i guess no ? :p
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
34
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
probably, i dont know exactly wich part it is, but you can drop evildragon a pm and he will probably sell you one.
 

nik166

:3 :3 :3
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
516
Location
french S/W
it seems to be a kinda weak part in the GP, strange that there's still no diagnosing/fixing tutorial about that yet?

i'll ask evildragon and possibly do one :p
 
I

i_am_a_noob

Guest
Vimacs posted on Sep 8 2006 at 06:38 AM said:
probably, i dont know exactly wich part it is, but you can drop evildragon a pm and he will probably sell you one.

it hasn't been the faster reply lately :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Yeah, sorry, didn't have much time lately checking PMs and replying :(
Hope it will get better in the future :)

Well, it sounds like the LTSK is broken, usually happens if you use a PSU with wrong polarity once.
It's a bitch to exchange, but definately possible (I have done this a few times).
 

nik166

:3 :3 :3
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
516
Location
french S/W
i haven't even used the psu since it stopped working! :p
it worked one day, then the next day i took the gp with me and tried to run it, and got that white screen .... as simple as that

the psu still works by the way :D
 

nik166

:3 :3 :3
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
516
Location
french S/W
grr, today it works again:eek:

i should be happy, except it's not because of me ! so it may mess again anytime .... i fould a little solder shit on L14 (near the red LED, LCD side ) i wonder if it could have been the source of the problem ?

i'll keep looking for other shits on other resistors, who knows :p
 
Top