What dit you use your Pandora/Pyra today/the last few days


matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,398
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Used the Thunderbird on the Pyra to show the Email from the Dragonbox Shop so I was able to put the IBAN etc in my Online Banking App on the IPhone to pay the Preeorder on the Phytian Mini PC,
Then I was trying to get Minecraft to run which ditnt work, so I installed Minetest, which runs a bit slow at the moment… , this will have a closer look on weekend
Then I was trying to install the DRM Hack for Chromium which also didn’t work yet..
And I played a bit whit the Gameboy Emulator..
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,398
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Used the Pyra as a Small „Exel „ PC whit Libre Office Calc , on our Years End Counting in our Shop:
Whe have Caps for Honey Jars packet in several 12 er Units , so I just had to write the times in my list and like a kind of magic, the Pyra dit tell me how many caps whe have
 

Asaggynoodle

Long Term Lurker
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
171
Location
USA
Bumping to bring this post back to life!

I swapped out some parts out of my prototype cases into my production model. I love the transparent colors with the LED's. Also, trying to map out how I want to revise the heatsink to be more effective and mitigate battery heat related issues as much as possible.

20220314_143918.jpg
20220314_143430.jpg
20220314_143240.jpg
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,398
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Yes, looks amazing, i will have to screw a bit whit my Pyra around when i change the Batterie Compartment, but i know this part as i had to open my Pandora several times to fix the shoulderbuttons, i hope its not that much different..

But even the Lid Part were much to dangorous for my Screwing scills..
 

Asaggynoodle

Long Term Lurker
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
171
Location
USA
Yes, looks amazing, i will have to screw a bit whit my Pyra around when i change the Batterie Compartment, but i know this part as i had to open my Pandora several times to fix the shoulderbuttons, i hope its not that much different..

But even the Lid Part were much to dangorous for my Screwing scills..
Honestly, the disassembly is extremely easy. I'd recommend watching the Pyra assembly video ED posted on YT a few years ago. Heck, go back and watch all of the videos, lots of good details in them.

The hardest part is by FAR the hinge, getting that friction hinge part to collapse without breaking the locking piece is difficult, but not impossible. I had to use fullsize pliers after all my more delicate tools failed to have enough strength on such a small part.

Also, rolling that display cable and threading it is an absolute art. I probably spent 5 minutes literally just playing with that cable to get it into the base with the display. Nothing is THAT hard, just be patient and it will come apart.

OHH, and for gods sake, don't lose the springs on the triggers. Wow, few close calls on that.

HOPEFULLY, I'll get to testing out heatsinks and making some variants this week if I get the time. But most of my day is spent trying to figure out how to get the .dbp's to work properly, and make OpenGL work properly.
 

ingoreis

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,244
Age
41
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Hi,i successfully compiled Yesterday Evening Otter-Browser and it work slow as expected.
The last Days i compiled FFmpeg,Mplayer and Box86,Gl4es new.

This evening i try to compile the newest VLC Version.

@ptitSeb
Can you please adapt and share the "Magic" copy_libs.sh for the Pyra?

Maybe i can share then the compiled Binaries and Libs for all here and maybe some can make a DBP for others :)

Both Pyras work fine here.
My next Goal is to boot System from SD and when the Battery is empty and the Pyra again too hot to Charge..then i use the Second Pyra :)
IMG_20220404_085028_870.jpg
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,398
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Awesome, i only used the Pyra on Weekend to make 2 Video (Atari and NES EMU), i wantet to make a third Video for Anki and French Language Training but i downloaded the software shortly bevor i made the recording but ditnt had succes running it.., or it was running but i had a black screen..

So i have the Pyra now under my Shop Counter to recharge it..
 

ingoreis

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,244
Age
41
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Yay i finaly found a good Youtube Player vor the OS.
It is in the Repo and the Name is:

qutebrowser

You can simply install it with:
-----------------------------------------------
sudo apt install qutebrowser
----------------------------------------------

Here from my Side it does Play 360p Videos fluid with Sound.
I do not know why my Firefox have no Sound here.

and to save Time..you can start it from a Terminal directly to Youtube.

qutebrowser www.youtube.com

I think i tried it with gl4es before but i must try more this Evening.

Its a little sad to own a Pyra with so much power in the Back but she is still not powerfull enough from Software Side to play 720p from Youtube.

Maybe i will try more with Youtube-dl and Minitube and other Things.

But for now i am firstly Fine with fluid 360p Videos on my Pyra :)
 

logen

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
52
Yay i finaly found a good Youtube Player vor the OS.
It is in the Repo and the Name is:

qutebrowser

You can simply install it with:
-----------------------------------------------
sudo apt install qutebrowser
----------------------------------------------

Here from my Side it does Play 360p Videos fluid with Sound.
I do not know why my Firefox have no Sound here.

and to save Time..you can start it from a Terminal directly to Youtube.

qutebrowser www.youtube.com

I think i tried it with gl4es before but i must try more this Evening.

Its a little sad to own a Pyra with so much power in the Back but she is still not powerfull enough from Software Side to play 720p from Youtube.

Maybe i will try more with Youtube-dl and Minitube and other Things.

But for now i am firstly Fine with fluid 360p Videos on my Pyra :)
qutebrowser still working for you? i've been having problems with webkit failure across all apps.
 

ingoreis

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,244
Age
41
Location
49.491276,8.423518
qutebrowser still working for you? i've been having problems with webkit failure across all apps.
My System is heavily Modified.
Tried this,added another Repo here,compiled this and other Things.

When you have a Vanilla System..maybe a

sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade

will work for you.

And i think i tried it with gl4es.

Maybe it do work here because my Experiments with the Linux System or an added Repo.

here are many Libs updated.

Maybe i can share my System with you but beware.
I am a Linux noob and it was only Luck that the System still work.
And i do have many Errors in this System.

The Benefits of my copied System will be:
-Netflix/Disney plus and other DRM Stuff do work on Chromium but very very slowly and its not the Wlan Connection Speed.
-updated Ffmpeg,mplayer and other Things
-much more installed and updated Libs
-Installed Android SDK and Wine for Box86 and Palemoon Browser from another Repo.

I simply must clean my Private Browsers Data/Telegram Data and then i can share it with you.

Anyone interrested?

But beware..i cannot make any support of this..
..do not forget..i am a Linux Noob and what i produced here is very dirty with many Errors.
Only experimenting ;)
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,398
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I try to use my Pyra on Saturday Evening as a Discord Speech Chat Device whit Headset over the Airpods Max, but after the others ask me to deactivate the Echo Effekt, i decided to just use the Iphone for this, maybe the Sound System ditnt work yet that correktly..

Also wantet to took a Video whit the Pyra on the External DVD Drive whit the N-Zone Anniversary CD whit all Issues from the last 25 Years, but as the DVD Drive was sound like a starting russian Fighter Jet, i decide to first put the Stuff on the USB Stick, but not whit the Pyra..
 

logen

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
52
Update: Fresh install on sd card, qutebrowser is black screen and lifera doesnt show content. Guessing webkit issues persist.

I wonder what you did that lets webkit work right...
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,691
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Yes, 16 times DVD speed is quite a speed. Even a 1x DVD drive as you'd find in any player is spinning that disc at 520rpm apparently, which helps explain why my 16x DVD drive sounds like it's going supersonic
 

Letalis Sonus

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
1,506
Even a 1x DVD drive as you'd find in any player is spinning that disc at 520rpm apparently, which helps explain why my 16x DVD drive sounds like it's going supersonic
You might want to watch that one Mythbusters episode where they demonstrate what actually happens within a CD drive that's going past 60x. That really explains why my old 58x Plextor CD drive didn't like the Star Wars Battlefront CDs and left them with weird cloudy marks on the outer parts of the disk... My friend wasn't happy when he saw what it did to his disks. Twice.
 

logen

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
52
Update: Fresh install on sd card, qutebrowser is black screen and lifera doesnt show content. Guessing webkit issues persist.

I wonder what you did that lets webkit work right...
Turns out it was qtwebengine failing... Webkit actually works. I don't think it likes our TI gfx driver
 
Top