• No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam fisher

Website
blog.peter-r.co.uk
Just wondering as DCGM seems to be very excited and egged on by people having incorrect grammatical understanding. Does anyone care and does it make a difference?

Peter R said:
Just wondering as DCGM seems to be very excited and egged on by people having incorrect grammatical understanding. Does anyone care and does it make a difference?
Please just let me be the first to point out that you spelled grammar incorrectly in the poll title ("grammer") but got the post-title correct. :lol:

Bad grammar (and spelling, punctuation, etc.) can really be a jolt in the mind of someone who is accustomed to reading material which doesn't suffer from it (e.g. I work in a school, so every single spelling mistake and grammatical error made by a member of staff is a reason to mock and ridicule them!). When you come across a poorly constructed sentence, it's almost impossible to stop yourself from thinking "They couldn't even be bothered to take the time to write it correctly." Bad grammar costs people jobs every day because their CV's just get thrown in the bin.

That said, in informal forums, who cares so long as the text is readable? The problem is that those people who ignore basic grammar (and I'm not talking about those who use "me and Fred" instead of "Fred and I" but the ones who can't even get a simple sentence to sound right) also tend to throw away any hope of posting a readable comment.

You make exceptions on the Internet. A lot of people are not native English speakers and although correcting them is fine, punishing them for it is not. Also, you get a lot of young kids and they benefit from the same treatment. There are a lot of pedants, though, that like to ridicule people and then actually get more things wrong than the original poster.