Beta Fallout


liveunderwater

熱いソース
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
190
I've got my fingers crossed, hoping that notaz or ptitSeb stumbles upon a way to make Fallout 1 fully playable on the Pandora. I've never played 1 or 2 but I really liked the system in 3. Looking at screens for the first games and seeing so many people here say nice things about them I would really like to add them to my Pandora. I need a new game to play while sitting at the Laundromat anyhow.
 

lunarwhale

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
44
Hot damn, one of my favorite games in a very playable state on the Pandora. Doin' God's work here, Seb.
 

Skin-nl

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2013
Messages
142
Age
41
Location
Enschede
Thanks ptitSeb for this great port!!!!
I,ve played fallout many many hours back in the day.
But i wait when its fully playable on the Pandora.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,847
Age
48
Location
France, near Lyon
New build on the repo, with an updated version of DosBOX. This version should be a bit faster but unfortunatly not fast enough for smooth gameplay.
It can be ok, without the anoying micro-freeze, if you disable the music (in the option once a game is started, or edit the FALLOUT.CFG file directly).

Build 03
-------------

  • New DosBOX build. Should be faster
  • Hint: disable music for faster gameplay.
 

freds_shadow

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
41
I put my gog executable in the base folder (appdata/Fallout, I believe, just below the FALLOUT directory and the same directory as the readme.txt). I then start the pnd, but it then gives me a dialogue saying I can now delete the exe file, and asks if I want to. Yes/No doesn't matter because it hasn't done anything with the file. It'll create the FALLOUT directory, but there'll be nothing in it, and it'll just complain that I haven't put the executable in the directory.

In other words, it isn't unpacking the executable. I've tried rename it in case it's looking for setup_fallout.exe without the version info, but it likes that even less and doesn't seem to know the exe is there after renaming it.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,847
Age
48
Location
France, near Lyon
I put my gog executable in the base folder (appdata/Fallout, I believe, just below the FALLOUT directory and the same directory as the readme.txt). I then start the pnd, but it then gives me a dialogue saying I can now delete the exe file, and asks if I want to. Yes/No doesn't matter because it hasn't done anything with the file. It'll create the FALLOUT directory, but there'll be nothing in it, and it'll just complain that I haven't put the executable in the directory.

In other words, it isn't unpacking the executable. I've tried rename it in case it's looking for setup_fallout.exe without the version info, but it likes that even less and doesn't seem to know the exe is there after renaming it.
Can you put here the file /tmp/pndrun_fallout.out so I can check what's wrong?
 

freds_shadow

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
41
I re-downloaded, and it's extracting. The installer I'd been using was listed as 490MB, but it was actually 52MB. Thanks for your time.
 
Top