Genemu..... You wanted it?


true karma

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
216
gp32animefreak, you need to convert all your .bin roms to .Smd format, jus renaiming them won't work, you can get the tool to do this here
 

ralp99

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
987
Age
47
Location
Los Angeles
i'll tell you one thing this emu needs, a gamma correction. some of the games are so dark I can barely even see them (even with a FLU!)
but that's cool, watching the compatibility list it looks like lots of great games are playable. I have found a bunch of others too, will submit them this evening.
 

klay51

Member
Joined
May 19, 2003
Messages
163
Ahh, I'm using all SMD files and they all start to boot then about 5-10 secs in my gp reboot. I changed batteries to new ones, still not working. I've tried Comix Zone and Altered Beast :( :( :(
 

klay51

Member
Joined
May 19, 2003
Messages
163
OK thank gooooodness i fianlly got a game to work. Sonic 1 is pretty dran fast. There is very very noticeable difference between standard and 156mhz version to me.Thanks Zardoz
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
The emu was almost full speed on 156 and sonic and knuckles didn't work. But it is still great to play genesis on the gp32!
 

look

N/A
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
489
Age
46
Location
The North
Website
www.deardenboys.co.uk
gp32animefreak posted on Sep 3 2003 said:
1.none of the games i have tried works at all all i get is black screen when playing any game(the approved ones),dose it have something to do with the bin files.

2. At the load game screen its a bit flickery is that a problem.

3.Is it my gp32, because im not trying to clock anything(yet) until i get a game to work
Cant you just use your own Genisis Emu ;)


on a side note

I've had alot more success with US roms than with Japanese or European.

frinstance...sunset riders European wont work but the US version will.

Still on the lookout for a 150Mhz version (o)(o)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
gp32animefreak posted on Sep 3 2003 said:
1.none of the games i have tried works at all all i get is black screen when playing any game(the approved ones),dose it have something to do with the bin files.

2. At the load game screen its a bit flickery is that a problem.

3.Is it my gp32, because im not trying to clock anything(yet) until i get a game to work
You need to convert your .bin files to .smd, use the converter on gp32world. The load screen thing is normal.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

GurtyGurt

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2003
Messages
324
I haven't actually tried the emulator yet, but the comment on EA games taking forever to load reminded me of back in the mid 90s when Genesis/MD emulation was primitive and it too did that. Pretty much compatibility would go 1/1 for this, and I dunno if the emu has SRAM support (I assume not), but it just seemed fair to point out that some games won't develop glitches until well into the game - if they work. For example, Phantasy Star 4 - everything would in theory run great until you have to face a 'big' enemy (some that aren't normal sized). I think one or two later bosses are classified as this. Also I think the dialogue in the Molcum basement glitches about 50% or greater of the time, completely locking up the game.

But like I said, this is IF it works, and IF you can't save it wouldn't matter :) (I'm talking about REALLY oldschool emulators like Genem and Megasis, not just Genecyst). So far emulation history has been a reliable benchmark for everything but NES.

What confuses me though is, why .smd format? Super Magic Drive format is considered outdated and virtually everything is .bin. I'm pretty sure .bin's are just raw dumps. It's a bit of a pain to convert them back from when I converted them for my DC! Oh well...
 
Top