GOG.com

Discussion in 'Offtopic Discussions' started by Fzero, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
    GOG finally answered about the issue of Dying Light and the last update has all the contents ready totally offline.
     
    ckblackm likes this.
  2. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,575
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    That's a positive surprise! I thought they were becoming increasing wedded to tying everything into their online galaxy client, so my expectations were definitely surpassed.
     
  3. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    why did they move the news to the absolute bottom of the page.....
     
  4. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
    Because the store comes first for them... maybe in some of their statistics people just buy everything that sells the most...

    Personally, as maybe most of the "original" client-base, I prefer to read forum threads before deciding that I want a game.
     
  5. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    but i mean that's the problem for me I have to search to find the news that shows the new stuff they added.

    But maybe you have a better way to handle it by checking the threads directly for new games.
     
  6. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,575
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    It took me about five attempts looking at the home screen to notice that the very bottom row of rectanugular images that looked a lot like all of the other rectangular images which represented games was actually headed 'news'. But even on searching through that, I couldn't find the news posted here; although maybe it's just ticked off already, and it seems there's no way to find older news articles.
     
  7. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    @levi, yeah same experience here. I think they have dumb code that only keeps the latest 5 entries. So if you didnt check recently you might never know :)
     
  8. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
    The "NEWS" are in the "General discussion" forum, and have a blue dot
     
    levi likes this.
  9. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
  10. sm0kew0n

    sm0kew0n Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Earth
    I just bought Frozen Synapse and apparently I have a copy to give away if anyone is so inclined. Not sure how to give it away exactly....
     
  11. pmprog

    pmprog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,716
    When i purchased it back at the start, you gota redeemable code inside the game, not sure how that's work with gog though.
    I miss playing that game, might have to boot it back up again sometime
     
  12. kuru

    kuru Laptop und Trachtenjanker

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Location:
    the mockracy
    Lightkey likes this.
  13. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    already have fantasy general so anyone wants it heres a code: PTME577DFCD817E9UE
     
  14. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
    Damn, Bioshock Remastered on GOG got me by surprise !!

    I have it's original disc, but I can't play it anymore (without cracking it) because those damn DRM servers are down... (and anyway it installs those evil DLLs all around my system, and because them are old, I get the hell of incompatibility errors everywhere)
     
  15. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,650
    Submit a support request for the Bioshock Collection, provide your steam name and proof of purchase (I took pictures of the case, disk, activation code, and Big Daddy figure that I got with it). After a few days it'll just show up in your Steam library. Assuming they're still doing that, you may have missed the window but it's worth a try.
     
    PowerGod likes this.
  16. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,875
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    I allready have the HD Collection whit One Two and Infinite on my Xbox One since some months,
    So it’s nothing for me sadly,
    But I don’t have a computer that runs the bioshock Games anyway ..
    (Or do they need the same Power as Crysis, GTA4, Half Life 2 and Farming Simulator 2014?? Then the GPD Win would they run
     
  17. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
    @WizardStan : now that it's on GOG for 5€ it's faster for me to get it there than making a 2k account, do pictures, and ask for the steam code... also, for single player games GOG is a must anyway.

    For those interested, this is the story of my Bioshock:
    At the time, I hated so much DRM things that I never even touched that game in the stores.
    A Christmas day, a person with a deep bond with me, and with an extreme ignorance about videogames and what I liked about them, gifted me that game.
    My PC at the time wasn't so powerful, but the minimum requirements on the case were PERFECTLY matching my machine... so I installed it... and then the REAL adventure started !!

    STEP 1: Starting the game wasn't possible... because it was trying to download a REQUIRED PATCH from an not existent internet address...

    STEP 2: Searched the internet for some info about that patch... naturally it wasn't even in the official almost abandoned Bioshock official site... but after 1 day of searching I found a copy of that patch in some storage site... and installed it...

    STEP 3: The game started just to download some other patches... luckily this time the address was existent... it required like a day to download everything it needed...

    STEP 4: The game restarted asking for the code in the box... I inserted it and confirmed just to get a generic error... retried many times with no luck...

    STEP 5: After some internet search I found out that the issue was my firewall... I had to open some ports to make the game check the code with their server... those ports weren't written anywhere in the documentation that came with the game...

    STEP 6: With the ports open I got another error... still generic... still searched the internet... and after a day I found out that the "securom" (if I remember well) drivers I had installed weren't working right... so...

    STEP 7: Searched the internet for updated securom drivers... at least was easy this time... BUT... it took like half a day to uninstall correctly the old ones... else the newer ones weren't able to get in the system...

    STEP 8: THE GAME STARTED... THE MENU WAS THERE... THE GAME WAS... BLACK !!!! JUST BLACK with all the sounds, and some objects here and there, but without walls or ceilings or floors...

    STEP 9: A new internet search... found the issue... and it wasn't written in the manual... the game required a graphic card with Shaders 3.0, but mine was only 2.0....

    STEP 10: Again on internet to find a solution... I found a petition where 2k (if I remember well) promised that after like 10.000 (if I remember well) signs they will have added the 2.0 support... the petition surpassed by far that expectation, but was totally ignored... that support officially never came...

    STEP 11: Still surfing in the hope of a workaround... and DAMN !! THERE WAS ONE !!! One guy, in it's spare time, modified the game files to use shaders 2.0... if I remember well the first version required to him (and his total ignorance about shaders) a weekend... I have no words.

    STEP 12: Installed the last shaders 2.0 MOD, and I was able FINALLY to play the game !!! And happily finished it without issues !!

    Now THAT was an adventure !!
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2018
    NetBLOKS and rygD like this.
  18. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,575
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Blimey, if I was gifted a game that made me go through so many semi-artificial hoops (some of the patches are presumably needed because the data on the disc is effectively pre-gold), I'd just have sold if for some petty cash at the first of those steps.
     
  19. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,503
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    I played and finished the DRM-free version of Bioshock 1 from Humble Bundle that was sold at one specific point in time in a bundle a few years ago, glad to see it is available again, although it's only the remaster yet, I heard they plan to add the original versions in the bonus section, both versions of both games should run well in WINE by now, especially with DXVK.
     
  20. ckblackm

    ckblackm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Same here... code: PTME27286BADF258LP
     

Share This Page

Loading...