overclocking


yuujin

Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2003
Messages
188
Age
42
Location
Gothenburg, Sweden
Website
Visit site
hey. i've been wondering about this overclocking thing, and why it doesn't work very well on my gp32. is it sheer luck that gives some of the gp32 owners the opportunity to play mario kart w/ sound at a frameskip of 3? or has it something to do with when your machine was manufactured??
i first thought about whether the power supply limited the speed of the gp32 processor, but that was not the case.
maybe i'm stoopid. waddya think?
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,832
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Haven't tried it myself, but I think I read somewhere that it doesn't freeze - you just have to wait a while and then it passes the Nintendo screen.
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
Yeah, in posted that it doesn't freeze, you have to wait awhile after the nintendo screen and the game will start.
 

ChonGeD

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
35
Mario Kart works well I find..

It could be faster though and over clocking
will help. Sound and high speed I doubt very
much though.

Would be nice to know if somebody had both.

:huh:

I was also wondering?? Has anybody got save
states working for Snes? Really want to play
Zelda but there is not much point while I cant
save.. :(

Let us know!
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
You can't use save states! There are no save states! The save feature in Snes9xgp is like normal saving. After you save the game in the game, you then exit to the menu and choose Save (write Sram), this creates the srm file, the save file. After everytime you save in the game, choose save in the menu
 

ChonGeD

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
35
lol funny you should post that because moments after
I wrote that I thought back to the Save SDRAM and
tried it. I Hardly use the Snes emu as the only game I
really used to like was Zelda.

So if any one knows of any good snes games that work
well on the GP would be of help.

Believe it or not I play the Master System most of all hehe!
*memories*
 

ChonGeD

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
35
Also I have a question you could help me on Azure...

Is your GP32 over clocked for running SNES games
and if it is what would you recommend to be the best
speed to run the system at?

Cheers
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
ChonGeD posted on Oct 11 2003 at 12:45 PM said:
Also I have a question you could help me on Azure...

Is your GP32 over clocked for running SNES games
and if it is what would you recommend to be the best
speed to run the system at?

Cheers
You OC the gp32 through programs, you don't OC the gp32 overall (You only OC programs, you can't OC your GP32 to 156 and have everything run at that speed, if you OC one emu to 156, another program won't run at that speed, it'll run at the default speed). Of course the best one would be the highest. Not every GP32 can play 166mhz perfectly without freezing. My GP32 can only go to 156 without freezing so I play at that. Test to see how high yours can go (Don't worry, it's won't to blow up your GP32 :D ), get an emu that supports changing the OC in the menu (NeoGP32 or GPengine) and try the different clock settings.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ChonGeD

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
35
Ah!! So I take it there is no OC emu's
for SNES then?

;)

ah well... I'm sure there will be soon :lol:
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
ChonGeD posted on Oct 11 2003 at 12:51 PM said:
Ah!! So I take it there is no OC emu's
for SNES then?

;)

ah well... I'm sure there will be soon :lol:
No, There are OCed emus for Snes9xGP. Download the 156 version here.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ChonGeD

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
35
I use Snes9xGP but I see a OC option anywhere..

The only speed option I see is the frameskip which
is clearly not a OC feature.

Maybe u can help here?
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
ChonGeD posted on Oct 11 2003 at 12:56 PM said:
I use Snes9xGP but I see a OC option anywhere..

The only speed option I see is the frameskip which
is clearly not a OC feature.

Maybe u can help here?
Argh! Some people OC the emu by HexEditing it. Because snes doesn't have the OCing feature in the menu, some guys just HexEdited and created several different versions of Snes9xGP that run at a specific clock speed. Go here.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
ChonGeD posted on Oct 11 2003 at 01:06 PM said:
Pfft! Thanks for the answer but sorry I asked...

I wont again...

<_<
Sorry about that. It was my fault for not being clear.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ChonGeD

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
35
Hello again...

I just had to add.. the advice was great.
Now running Zelda at 156hrz with sound
and it looks and feels great. :D

Except BGM seems a little slow.. but I can
live with that Hehe!!

Cheers B)
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
ChonGeD posted on Oct 11 2003 at 01:32 PM said:
Hello again...

I just had to add.. the advice was great.
Now running Zelda at 156hrz with sound
and it looks and feels great. :D

Except BGM seems a little slow.. but I can
live with that Hehe!!

Cheers B)
is 156 the highest you can run at without it rebooting?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

The Dude

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Messages
98
Location
NJ
Website
rgc_2.tripod.com
Would it be safe to assume that the highest speed I can run DOOM v9 at is also the highest speed I can run any of the emulators at?

And do all of the emulators have the ROMS folder in GP:\SNES, or just the untested ones? It looks like the ROM folder is only shown as GP:\SNES under the untested versions...
 
Top