Release smplayer2 / mplayer2


Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
132
pder, when you say in the discussion thread that you rebuilt against newer upstream, could you at least tell us what versions 0.4.1 and 0.5.1 were built against so we can puzzle out out our own changelogs if need be?

ssokolow, responding here to your question on the repo:


All of the information on what code was built against between the various releases is in preserved in git through the use of git submodules.


First clone git://github.com/pder/mplayer2-build.git


You will find a tag for each release, eg. r4 = 0.0.4.1 and r5 = 0.0.5.1


After you clone the repository run the following:



Code:
git submodule update --init



If you would like to know the commit of each submodule in for example 0.0.4.1 you could do this:



Code:
git ls-tree r4 | grep commit


160000 commit d2da94955d683d1e4d22eee86d8c385f46bd7638 SMPlayer2

160000 commit 94b4c0d87182cd0bc84cf49cb793a0ab184df502 libass

160000 commit 3435f69f6f8dc8011ba045b4df9a8a6dd066e2bc libav

160000 commit 402e8554f19cd52768ecaf6fe4378cd5c44af71e libpostproc

160000 commit 78332308d47113fb256b276763fa510f92cd7793 mplayer


Another way to find out what changed with regards to submodules is to use git submodule summary:


If you have r5 checked out, git submodule summary r4 will print a changelog for each submodule since 0.0.4.1.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

klapse

Central Scrutinizer
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
1,932
Location
Germany
Is video equalization (brightness, contrast) possible with omapfb? The eq button with sliders doesnt work for me.


I am blown away by how good handbrake's general h264 profile looks. With the help of a weak denoise filter during encode, I can get a film down to 600-750 MB with no significant artefacts (blocking or jpeg waves around sharp contours). Wow films are really fun on pandora. Also people give compliments on how good they look on this LCD "even at an angle".
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
132
Is video equalization (brightness, contrast) possible with omapfb? The eq button with sliders doesnt work for me.

Equalization is not currently implemented in the omapfb video output driver, however you can turn on software video equalization under Preferences -> General -> Video -> Use software video equalization, then the eq button with sliders should work.
 

Foxgod

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
971
Location
Netherlands
Hi Pder, thanks for this application, its the only one that plays video's without issues.


However i found a bug in a feature that i find pretty important, the auto zoom function.


In order to scale the video perfectly to the borders of the screen, the user can press shift+W to increase the size, however doing so causes green borders around the video, when the video is is zoomed beyond 1.0.


Do you think its possible to make this feature work properly so that we can zoom beyond 1.0 without getting green borders?


I play the video's on an 1ghz unit.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
132
Hi Pder, thanks for this application, its the only one that plays video's without issues.


However i found a bug in a feature that i find pretty important, the auto zoom function.


In order to scale the video perfectly to the borders of the screen, the user can press shift+W to increase the size, however doing so causes green borders around the video, when the video is is zoomed beyond 1.0.


Do you think its possible to make this feature work properly so that we can zoom beyond 1.0 without getting green borders?


I play the video's on an 1ghz unit.

Yeah, the zoom function is not implemented in the omapfb output driver, but I imagine you should be able to accomplish what you want by changing the aspect ratio during playback, or cropping the video or a combination of both.


Could you give more details on what you are trying to do? Are you trying to compensate for a video that appears stretched or squashed?
 

Foxgod

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
971
Location
Netherlands
Hi Pder, thanks for this application, its the only one that plays video's without issues.


However i found a bug in a feature that i find pretty important, the auto zoom function.


In order to scale the video perfectly to the borders of the screen, the user can press shift+W to increase the size, however doing so causes green borders around the video, when the video is is zoomed beyond 1.0.


Do you think its possible to make this feature work properly so that we can zoom beyond 1.0 without getting green borders?


I play the video's on an 1ghz unit.

Yeah, the zoom function is not implemented in the omapfb output driver, but I imagine you should be able to accomplish what you want by changing the aspect ratio during playback, or cropping the video or a combination of both.


Could you give more details on what you are trying to do? Are you trying to compensate for a video that appears stretched or squashed?

Hi Pder,


What i am trying is to get the video to perfectly fit the screen, so that there are no black bars at the side or the bottom.


I watch anime on my pandora, which are mostly 4:3, when i choose aspect ratio 16:9 i have black bars on the bottom and top, and when i select 16:10 i have black bars at the side.


No matter what aspect ratio i select, i always have black borders, and i am one of those people thats more sensitive to black borders, then to aspect ratio, which is why i am trying to get the video to perfectly fit the screen.


So i am not trying to compensate for stretched or squashed looking video, i am actually trying to get rid of the borders.


Ofcourse the video looks a lot better in 16:9 and 16:10 then it looks in 4:3, but it doesnt fit perfectly, which is why i tried the zoom function.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
132
Hi Pder,


What i am trying is to get the video to perfectly fit the screen, so that there are no black bars at the side or the bottom.


I watch anime on my pandora, which are mostly 4:3, when i choose aspect ratio 16:9 i have black bars on the bottom and top, and when i select 16:10 i have black bars at the side.


No matter what aspect ratio i select, i always have black borders, and i am one of those people thats more sensitive to black borders, then to aspect ratio, which is why i am trying to get the video to perfectly fit the screen.


So i am not trying to compensate for stretched or squashed looking video, i am actually trying to get rid of the borders.


Ofcourse the video looks a lot better in 16:9 and 16:10 then it looks in 4:3, but it doesnt fit perfectly, which is why i tried the zoom function.

In this case, I think the aspect ratio you want is 5:3 which is not one of the options in the menu. A workaround would be to go into Options -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Options for MPlayer -> Options: and enter "-aspect 5:3"
 

Foxgod

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
971
Location
Netherlands
Hi Pder,


What i am trying is to get the video to perfectly fit the screen, so that there are no black bars at the side or the bottom.


I watch anime on my pandora, which are mostly 4:3, when i choose aspect ratio 16:9 i have black bars on the bottom and top, and when i select 16:10 i have black bars at the side.


No matter what aspect ratio i select, i always have black borders, and i am one of those people thats more sensitive to black borders, then to aspect ratio, which is why i am trying to get the video to perfectly fit the screen.


So i am not trying to compensate for stretched or squashed looking video, i am actually trying to get rid of the borders.


Ofcourse the video looks a lot better in 16:9 and 16:10 then it looks in 4:3, but it doesnt fit perfectly, which is why i tried the zoom function.

In this case, I think the aspect ratio you want is 5:3 which is not one of the options in the menu. A workaround would be to go into Options -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Options for MPlayer -> Options: and enter "-aspect 5:3"

Tnx, i will try that :)
 

klapse

Central Scrutinizer
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
1,932
Location
Germany
Feature Request: Overclock (In start-up script perhaps). My H264 videos need 700-800mhz to play smoothly.


Thanks!
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,955
Feature Request: Overclock (In start-up script perhaps). My H264 videos need 700-800mhz to play smoothly.


Thanks!

You can do this yourself with a .ovr file. If you don't feel like writing one yourself, just go into minimenu and set the clock speed on startup for smplayer2 which will write a .ovr file for you and it will work on both minimenu and xfce.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,735
I noticed that your MPlayer2 version needs FFMpeg, but not the official MPlayer2.


Is there a reason to this ?


Also, do you plan an update soon ?


I'm a bit concerned because i think about shipping your version (with your authorization) into SL4P.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
132
I noticed that your MPlayer2 version needs FFMpeg, but not the official MPlayer2.


Is there a reason to this ?


Also, do you plan an update soon ?


I'm a bit concerned because i think about shipping your version (with your authorization) into SL4P.

Not sure I understand your first question. mplayer2 is actually built with libav which was forked from FFmpeg.


I'll probably release another update soon. I recently had to fix up a few things with the build after some code got removed upstream and I need to test a bit.


You are of course welcome to include my version. Do you think you would be building from source?
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,735
Your readme include ffmpeg in the dependencies, not the official MP2 readme.


Yes, i build everything from source.
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,735
I did git clone git://github.com/pder/mplayer2.git


cd mplayer2/


cat README

general:


- libasound (ALSA audio output)


- various general X development libraries


- libfreetype


- libfontconfig


- libass


- FFmpeg libraries (libavutil libavcodec libavformat libswscale libpostproc)

I don't use a toolchain, i compile directly on the OP.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
132
Ah! OK, I see what you mean. The README has since been updated upstream, I just havent pushed those commits to my github repository.


If you do:



Code:
git remote add upstream git://git.mplayer2.org/mplayer2.git

git fetch upstream

The README was updated in 083e6e3e1a9b


I recommend using the mplayer2-build repository for your build since it keeps mplayer2, libav and other libs aligned using submodules.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top