Things that are in the P1 we dont want/need for P2

I've just always liked the speed and good performance of PowerPC. (PowerPC stands for "Performance Optimization With Enhanced RISC; Performance Computing." RISC stands for "Reduced Instruction Set Computing." If you think about it, it sounds like an awesome CPU.) Also, I noticed that In the game console world, every home console has PPC, and every handheld has ARM. But there are mobile PPC CPUs, so why not try packing some big into the small?
ARM stands for Advanced RISC Machine... ;) (Originally Acorn RISC Machine, since it originated from the British computing company, Acorn, back in the early 1980s.)
Wow, you know quite a bit. I was going to mention all of that!
Heh, thankyou. :) I'm no expert, though, and what I do know is *vastly* dwarfed by the knowledge held by many others here.

Do you spend lots of time on Wikipedia too?
No, I try to avoid Wikipedia, as a general rule. It's all just stuff that I've picked up over the course of my life so far, due to a lifelong interest in computers and in video games. :p

Last edited by a moderator:
ARM have always guaranteed backwards compatability with their instruction sets. I can take ARM code designed to run on the ARM1 and run it on any other ARM chip ever made (except for the ones that only support Thumb). Sure, a few things have broken, so it would not need to use PC relative addressing (pipeline length changes used to break things, but I gather they've worked around that now, though I don't know how), not enter supervisor mode and not otherwise modify the processor flags (26 bit vs 32 bit PC broke a few things) but other than that 95% of instructions will run unmodified.

Please note I'm not trying to win the 'who knows the most pointless crud' challenge here.

Well...yes........THERE SHOULD BE SOME KIND OF KNOWLEDGE CONTEST TO SEE WHO KNOWS THE MOST USELESS FACTS ABOUT THE HARDWARE IN THE PANDORA!
Wizardstan? MWeston?