Touch screen has stopped working :(


Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
495
Location
Bristol, England
It's just stopped working.

Occasionally when I booted up it'dmove the mouse cursor into the middle and highest position then if i touched the screen the cursor would just ping back to the top centre.

Now when i boot up it doesn't work at all.

Has anyone seen this issue before?
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,985
I've seen something like it..

First off check if the tabs are all in properly on the screen bezel top.. secondly there could be a piece of dirt wedged under the bezel in the top center area...

 
 

DaMummy

Soldier Paste
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
4,417
Age
34
Location
Ohio
again, i mention that this info should be stickied somewhere
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
495
Location
Bristol, England
Yeah i cant see anything.


Touch screen doesnt work at all now. Tried resetting touch screen settings to no joy. Wont recognise input at all :(


Any idea how to fix?
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,985
with a folded piece of paper or something thin but not going to damage the screen have you tried to trace between the screen and the plastic bevel? just to see if you can clear any junk out of there?

Also could loosen up the screws temporarily to see if releasing the pressure clears up the issue.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Wrath Of Khan

Soul soother...
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
5,206
Age
43
Location
Ireland
yeah its likely to be a piece of grit stuck in the bezel (for the umpteenth time) its activating the touchscreen permanently and so its always on.

Try pressing the line of plastic directly below the horizontal of your screen.

Mines been like this for months. Its heading eds way in a few weeks id say.
 

Franko

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
873
Location
San Diego, California, USA
And here I thought I was the only one that was trying to use my Pandora at the beach.   B)  

...but on a serious note, I'd suggest doing a few tests at least on your end before sending it off to be repaired.  ThrashyMG's idea of loosening the screws some might help...maybe you can use a can of compressed air or a small (but powerful) vacuum around the bezel of the screen.  What happens if you use a mouse, or the nubs as input?  Does that work?  Perhaps your bezel has snapped out of alignment?  You could take pictures of the screen/bezel and post them here for ED/Askarus/etc to view... maybe a solution may be found.  Worth a shot if you don't want to be parted with your Pandora for too long.  It must be frustrating though...it'll all turn out for the best.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,701
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
I'm almost 100% sure it's the top clip that flipped out.

Press the top bezel down and it's fixed.
 

Asiyura

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
1,496
Age
38
Location
France
I've seen something like it..


First off check if the tabs are all in properly on the screen bezel top.. secondly there could be a piece of dirt wedged under the bezel in the top center area...
You should have read what TrashyMG told you… It would have spared you a reflash. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ShleeDragon

Pro-Catflip
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
1,749
I've seen something like it..


First off check if the tabs are all in properly on the screen bezel top.. secondly there could be a piece of dirt wedged under the bezel in the top center area...
You should have read what TrashyMG told you… It would have spared you a reflash. :rolleyes:
EvilDragon is like jesus...

nobody listens to his followers.
 
Top