TV Cable ETA?


pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
4,150
I ordered a TV out cable with my Pandora, but apparently there were none left, so I just wondered if there was a known ETA for a new batch? Sorry if this is mentioned somewhere (I couldn't find anything).


Not in a rush, just curious is all...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
actually no tv out to start with, but wizardstan has connectors and peca will be making some custom cables i believe
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
4,150
actually no tv out to start with, but wizardstan has connectors and peca will be making some custom cables i believe

Oh, okay. Cheers


Out of curiousity, how come a standard TV out (like HDMI) port wasn't used?
 

peca

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
895
Location
Jičín city; CZ
Website
Visit site
Standard TV-out, if integrated would be S-Video and audio. It means miniDIN + 3,5 jack or 2xRCA connecotrs. On the EXT port in addition beside - S-Video and stereo audio out - are stereo audio in, 2x UART and Vcc for level shifters. UARTs are configurable and could be taken as general processor in/out. Where are You put all those outputs.
 

Caine

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
4,138
Location
Netherlands
Out of curiousity, how come a standard TV out (like HDMI) port wasn't used?
The OMAP processor used in the Pandora is a system on chip design which provides a single digital video output and a single analog video output. The digital output is connected to the touchscreen, the analog output can only provide S-Video quality. There is no space left in the Pandora to add in any additional video circuitry.


If the system on chip would have had two digital video outputs (like the newer OMAP 4 chips do), then HDMI or DVI-d would have been possible. However, since usage of HDMI has some pretty serious licensing cost attached to it (about $10.000 per year), DVI-d is a much more likely candidate.
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
The OMAP processor used in the Pandora is a system on chip design which provides a single digital video output and a single analog video output. The digital output is connected to the touchscreen, the analog output can only provide S-Video quality. There is no space left in the Pandora to add in any additional video circuitry.


If the system on chip would have had two digital video outputs (like the newer OMAP 4 chips do), then HDMI or DVI-d would have been possible. However, since usage of HDMI has some pretty serious licensing cost attached to it (about $10.000 per year), DVI-d is a much more likely candidate.
Actually, I'm pretty sure the OMAP3 does have two digital video outputs. The second video out is also made up of several GPIO lines, however, which MWeston needed to use for the keyboard and other controls, unfortunately. If we hadn't had the keyboard, I bet he could have found a way to make use of the second video line, but then we wouldn't have a keyboard: a rather poor tradeoff, in my opinion.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
4,150
If we hadn't had the keyboard, I bet he could have found a way to make use of the second video line, but then we wouldn't have a keyboard: a rather poor tradeoff, in my opinion.
Agreed.


Thanks for the info everyone
 

Caine

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
4,138
Location
Netherlands
Actually, I'm pretty sure the OMAP3 does have two digital video outputs. The second video out is also made up of several GPIO lines, however, which MWeston needed to use for the keyboard and other controls, unfortunately. If we hadn't had the keyboard, I bet he could have found a way to make use of the second video line, but then we wouldn't have a keyboard: a rather poor tradeoff, in my opinion.
Oh? I didn't know. Thanks for the info. :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MWeston

Internal Development
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
1,256
Location
Canada
Website
openpandora.ca
Actually, I'm pretty sure the OMAP3 does have two digital video outputs. The second video out is also made up of several GPIO lines, however, which MWeston needed to use for the keyboard and other controls, unfortunately. If we hadn't had the keyboard, I bet he could have found a way to make use of the second video line, but then we wouldn't have a keyboard: a rather poor tradeoff, in my opinion.
No, that doesn't make any sense at all. :)


The keyboard is controlled by a dedicated row/column scanner built into the PMIC chip. The game buttons (GPIO) are using up the camera interface. There is no second digital (standard) display interface on OMAP3. The second display that OMAP3 could support is just a little SPI or SRAM interface type typical of a small display in a camera to show who is calling and the time or something, not a full blown high res screen (or DVI, HDMI, etc.).
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,963
Oh that's interesting, after reading TI documents, i always though the camera interface was free. But it's the buttons ! That's Hacking :lol: .
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
The keyboard is controlled by a dedicated row/column scanner built into the PMIC chip. The game buttons (GPIO) are using up the camera interface. There is no second digital (standard) display interface on OMAP3. The second display that OMAP3 could support is just a little SPI or SRAM interface type typical of a small display in a camera to show who is calling and the time or something, not a full blown high res screen (or DVI, HDMI, etc.).
How monumentally bizarre. I swear I read the specs for the 3530 when I first got my BeagleBoard and saw that the second digital video was indeed a second set of lines which could be reconfigured for GPIO duty, but now I'm rereading it and that is quite obviously not the case. Where did this idea of mine come from? Did I read the OMAP4 spec by mistake?
 

Polossatik

I reject your reality and substitute my own
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
477
Location
Belgium
Website
Visit site
so who's first to mod one a little serial driven lcd in the back of the screen lid for twitter/email notifications? :)
 
Top