Whats the "killer app" going to be for the Pyra?


xiongxioi

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
434
No, throwing Pyra at a bit of a wall when your entire colony gets murdered is not good for your mental health and wallet. 

Dwarf fortress runs badly even on a powerhouse gaming pc, A pyra port would be nightmarish slow. It's fun though, if you only want to play the first 30 minutes of it.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,964
Windows 8 on Pyra!
 

StarG

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
470
Location
Germany
Website
copilot.mindforge.cc
Yea, mmy main reasons for saying it was awesome were these:It's better than the one in the OMAP.We're never going to be able to get an A7It's better than most of its competition-God Ginrai
 
Of course this could be possible (theoretically)... disassemble Iphones (5S) to obtain a fully working mainboard with a shiny new A7 and memory soldered onto along with lots of support peripherals on it. Just too expensive to realistically do :)

While this gets access to an A7 with its custom architecture ARMv8 and superb gpu power there aren't any linux drivers available. Unless you try to hijack the blobs present in the Apple firmware which would be a tremendous accomplishment.
 

StarG

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
470
Location
Germany
Website
copilot.mindforge.cc
Last edited by a moderator:

lunixbochs

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
742
Nice tech demo... going native wine would most probably produce playable speeds...
If by native WINE you mean x86, then yes. That would be faster. Half-life in this case is a native linux client, so WINE isn't even in the picture.

This demo has native OpenGL rendering, but their rendering pipeline seems to be too CPU-bound. I had better luck with Unreal Tournament.

I'm vaguely building a more gaming-optimized QEMU (as in the CPU part). We'll see how it goes. The raw power alone of the Pyra should give us a huge leg up on ports and emulation.

Guys, the killer app is going to be a working Dwarf Fortress.... please...
I did this a long time ago on my CC. Let's see if I can dig up a video. Honestly, running it over SSH or something might have less lag. (Edit: looks like I didn't upload the video)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,964
If by native WINE you mean x86, then yes. That would be faster. Half-life in this case is a native linux client, so WINE isn't even in the picture.
^ Actually I was using wine in that video. I still need to test out the native Linux Half-life.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

lunixbochs

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
742
Is it using OpenGL? (you'd see a few messages from libGL in the terminal on startup if that's working).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,964
Is it using OpenGL?
I did set the renderer to OpenGL in the Half-life settings. So I believe so.. this was with your release you did several months ago.


Edit: I can fire it up again to make sure.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

lunixbochs

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
742
So it's likely completely CPU-bound against QEMU. WINE isn't as big of an optimization target as QEMU in this case :)

As much as is possible of audio and video acceleration is pushed to the host already.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,964
Well now I can't make it run.. I'll poke around with it later..
 

God Ginrai

Godmaster
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
5,466
Website
Visit site
Of course this could be possible (theoretically)... disassemble Iphones (5S) to obtain a fully working mainboard with a shiny new A7 and memory soldered onto along with lots of support peripherals on it. Just too expensive to realistically do :)

While this gets access to an A7 with its custom architecture ARMv8 and superb gpu power there aren't any linux drivers available. Unless you try to hijack the blobs present in the Apple firmware which would be a tremendous accomplishment.
You get that working and I'll change my opinion on the GPU in the A80. :p

-God Ginrai
 
Top