Atari 800 Help

Top Op Man

Still Fresh
Im pretty new to GP2X but managed to get most emulators working.
Struggling with Atari 800 as it wont recognize file name.
Ihave firmware 2.1 running.
Thanks in anticipation.

Have a look at this link, should answer your questions:

Here

Edit: Just realised you need help with the GP2X version even though you posted in the GP32 section.

Last edited by a moderator:
From my SD card I have the following structure:

grab.png

Make sure you have the correct files in the 'OS' folder, these are:
5200.rom
ataribas.rom
atariosa.rom
atariosb.rom
atarixl.rom

and your games:
.atr files go in "disks" folder
.com files go in "exe" folder
.bin files go in "rom" folder

Sorry for posting wrong place!
The only download file I have is atari800_gp2x.tar.bz2.
Where are other files mentioned above and have no gpe file.
Thanks for helping v thick person.

Don't worry about the wrong forum, you just confused me a bit :D

The link on the author's website is currently broken, but download this file:

here

and uncompress the file.

simply use the a800 folder from this downloaded file as the a800 folder in the screen grab above.

This will give you the file structure, OS files, and sample Game files.

As for the .gpe file you need to download this:

here

again uncompress and you'll find the .gpe file.

What do I use to uncompress. Usually zip file?
Windows doesnt recognise this file type?
I did go to school honest :)
Thanks for your patience!!

Try this

It looks like it should work, but I can't confirm anything because I have a Mac. WinRAR will probably work too.

If that doesn't work then I could always email you the lot as a zip file tomorrow.

I'm alright with every other emulator but having a nightmare with the Atari 800 emulator. How do i actually load a game, then reset it and load another ? I've done the normal route of selecting a game and running etc but it just comes up with the menu screen and nothing else.