Bluetooth Works, But I Need Some Help :)


EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,701
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Well, never used Bluetooth for anything, so I thought I'd just try it out.

I got a mobile phone with Windows Mobile 6.5 and my Pandora.

Enabled Bluetooth on both. The Pandora discovered the phone (as phone) and I could connect to it and send files over. No prob with that.

BUT as a lot of you will probably want to use the phone as modem, I'd like to try that out.
The Pandora can discover and use a variety of Bluetooth device. I can select what it should discover in a dropdown menu (usually, it's set to all devices).
The devices it can use seem to be:
  • Input Devices (mice, keyboards, ...)
  • Headphones, headsets and other audio devices
  • Phone
  • Modem
  • Computer
  • Network
  • Camera
  • Printer

I guess what I would need for an internet connection would be either modem or network. But my phone says it's a phone - and doesn't seem to offer internet to the Pandora.

Now my question:
Could it be that Windows Mobile 6.5 doesn't offer that? Can't I use that phone as modem for internet access?
The WM6.5 interface is the most cluttered I've ever seen (well, maybe except for Vista), so I have no idea if I am doing something wron here or if this is even possible.

The Pandora Bluetooth function seems a lot more easy and logical for me ;)

So, anyone who can help me there?
 

dobsonator

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
11
Age
32
Location
coventry
in my excperience with using mobiles as a modem is its usually the cheaper phones that work (not smartphones or windows phones) maybe you could do a little google-ing for an app that may allow you to do this. if not then maybe try a sony erricsson i know that this will deffinatly work as a modem.
 

alerino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
3,200
ED, what is your mobile? i've had successful attempts to connect to internet, but it was always nokia phones.
 

cosurgi

http://janek.kozicki.pl/
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
1,098
Location
Gdansk, Poland
Website
janek.kozicki.pl
omg,omg,omg. That's exactly what I'm planning to do. Currently I know few things, and my research was just a little + guesswork.

My phone, a classical nokia 3120c, can connect to internet using 3G, and Opera works. I can check my emails and browse websites. Opera is using java.

My guess is that I need to find a java application that connects to internet in similar manner as Opera, then acts as a software router (written in java) and redirects the network traffic through bluetooth.

That is where I am currently planning to start my research, to achieve aforementioned goal.
 

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
44
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
My experience with this is limited, but in the past I've simply set up a new dialup connection on the PC, to dial either *99# or *91# depending on the provider (no username or password). If the phone is tethered to the PC, it picks it up as a dialup modem and voila.

[edit] As dpoarch points out this may not apply to Winmo 6.5
 

Dead1nside

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
1,056
Location
UK
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
EvilDragon said:
Now my question:
Could it be that Windows Mobile 6.5 doesn't offer that? Can't I use that phone as modem for internet access?
The WM6.5 interface is the most cluttered I've ever seen (well, maybe except for Vista), so I have no idea if I am doing something wron here or if this is even possible.

The Pandora Bluetooth function seems a lot more easy and logical for me ;)

So, anyone who can help me there?

EvilDragon are you using NetworkManager and Blueman? It may be that the phone's device-id is not in the proper file to support this out of the box.
I run Fedora Linux 12 on my laptop and my phones are all detected by NetworkManager out of the box as having Dial-Up Networking capability. That's with a Nokia N82 and N85. There's a file with a list of supported phones with the device-ids inside.

I remember a while back a picture of NetworkManager and a caption saying that you guys wanted to include it for the awesome connectivity it provides, in my experience it really does. Being GTK+ means it probably fits in nicely with the XFCE desktop too.

Edit: Where possible NetworkManager fills in the provider details, it has a large database of user provided details for all sorts of mobile providers, listed by countries. I just needed to select UK -> Orange -> Contact and away I go, the username, password and dial code were all set up.

Edit 2: This is more about 3G USB dongles or cards but I pulled this from the networkmanager mailinglist archive, by Dan Williams lead developer on NM, the following all work:

Sony Ericsson F3507g (aka Dell 5530)
Sony Ericsson MD300
* Sony Ericsson TM-506 (via USB cable)
* LG PM325 (via USB cable)
* BUSlink SCWi275u
* Option iCON 225
* Option ICON 7.2
* Option GT MAX 3.6 (aka Option GT Ultra)
Sierra Wireless AirCard 580 (Sprint)
Sierra Wireless AirCard 881 (use latest AT&T firmware)
* Sierra Wireless AirCard 860
Sierra Wireless AirCard 595U (Sprint/Verizon)
* Sierra Wireless MC8775
* Huawei E160G
Huawei E220
* Novatel Merlin S720 (Sprint/Verizon)
* Novatel Merlin XU870 (aka Dell 5510)
Novatel Ovation U727 (Sprint/Verizon)
Novatel Merlin S620 (Sprint)
* Qualcomm Gobi (GSM firmware)
Kyocera KPC650 (Verizon)
Verizon Wireless PC5750
Verizon Wireless UM175
Verizon Wireless KPC680

I have heard that NM works with the following additional devices:

Huawei E169
Huawei EC121 (Reliance India)
Huawei E168 (Reliance India)
Option Nozomi
(others I can't remember)

In general, devices supported by the Linux 'option', 'hso', 'sierra',
and 'nozomi' drivers will work with NetworkManager.

Edit 3: ED, I think if you attach your phone via the cable to a Linux computer and
Code:
lspci
it, looking for your phone, you'll get the device id and then we can search for it to see if it's supported and what modes it uses etc.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

alerino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
3,200
the thing is that nokia phones always prompt you to choose between File Transfer Mode and Nokia PC Suite (the way to activate the modem and connect to internet),

EDIT: when using USB cable
 

dobsonator

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
11
Age
32
Location
coventry
hey ED ive just done some googleing my self on the matter and you can also do this using usb to to the windows phone


would it just not be easier to use a usb 2g or 3g grsm modem and plave your sim card in it
 

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
@gruso
was this with a windows mobile 6.5 phone? I don't think they use that anymore link

With newer windows mobile it seems that you add the device as a bluetooth modem and you do not have to do any dialing anymore. (this is all from reading I have no experience except tethering through usb)
 

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
44
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
dpoarch said:
@gruso
was this with a windows mobile 6.5 phone? I don't think they use that anymore link
Ah ok, scratch that then. It was someone else's Nokia (Symbian) phone. I don't even have a modern phone, still love my ancient Sony Ericsson too much to give it up.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

urjaman

"I Know. We're going for a ride."
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
1,111
Age
30
Location
Finland
Website
urjaman.dy.fi
dpoarch said:
@gruso
was this with a windows mobile 6.5 phone? I don't think they use that anymore link

With newer windows mobile it seems that you add the device as a bluetooth modem and you do not have to do any dialing anymore. (this is all from reading I have no experience except tethering through usb)
Anyway, based on continued feedback from the community, we have changed our minds! We will bring Bluetooth DUN back by default in a future WM6 AKU release. Keep in mind that OEMs and operators still have the final say whether DUN will end up on a specific device.
Still, it depends on the device. I think if it has "internet [connection] sharing" then that must be somehow enabled on the device. I know nothing about WinMo, so thats just deferred from that blog entry behind the link.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

dpoarch

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
196
Age
34
Location
california
Website
Visit site
ah I see what you are saying. I skipped that part. So their whole ics protocol is some special thing that only works on some devices that use it, and they still have the legacy software for backwards compatibility.
 

Tor

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
709
Yeah, it could be a DUN or PAN issue, as winmo seems to prefer PAN these days and Linux-based systems are often DUN-oriented. The Nokia tablets, for example, supported DUN out of the box but PAN had to be hacked in by the users.
 

Yod4z

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
916
Age
41
Location
France
At my work i have bluetooth 56K modem that work with the application dev buy my employer working on windows mobile 6 but i never see bluetooth ADSL modem
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,701
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Aaah, first step: Found the setting for Internet sharing in my WM6.5 mobile phone.
It's not where you would expect it (in the Bluetooth settings dialogue), but in Program Files.
Now, let's try more :)
 

cappuchok

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
341
Location
Sweden
Website
Visit site
slygamer said:
With the iPhone, you have to pay the telco to get tethering enabled. Only then can the phone be used for internet connection for another device.
Slightly off-topic, but I think that depends very much on your telco. My operator in Sweden have not placed that limitation on the iPhones they sell, tethering is enabled by default.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

taito

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
47
Location
Sweden
Just waiting for wifi to work, android has wifi tethering so after wifi is working it shouldnt be hard :p
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,701
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Tor said:
Yeah, it could be a DUN or PAN issue, as winmo seems to prefer PAN these days and Linux-based systems are often DUN-oriented. The Nokia tablets, for example, supported DUN out of the box but PAN had to be hacked in by the users.

Okay, my phone says it's PAN, that might explain it. I still can only find it as phone... need to dive in more.

BTW: Software I'm using on the Pandora is: GNOME Bluetooth Properties 2.28.6 and Network Manager.
 
Last edited:

Dead1nside

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
1,056
Location
UK
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
EvilDragon said:
Tor said:
Yeah, it could be a DUN or PAN issue, as winmo seems to prefer PAN these days and Linux-based systems are often DUN-oriented. The Nokia tablets, for example, supported DUN out of the box but PAN had to be hacked in by the users.

Okay, my phone says it's PAN, that might explain it. I still can only find it as phone... need to dive in more.

BTW: Software I'm using on the Pandora is: GNOME Bluetooth Properties 2.28.6 and Network Manager.

I believe Blueman is better to use, especially so if you want this Bluetooth tethering. NM and Blueman have been working together on this problem. It's got a number of plugins that are for NetworkManager that bind the whole process together. It's in the Angstrom repository, last time I checked, maybe install that and give it a go. The latest NM 0.8 has support for both DUN and PAN, so it shouldn't be a problem.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top