New Pandora owner? Make this thread your first stop.


Prometheus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
9,475
...and who knows what else that I missed or haven't played. You know, come to think of it, I have to rip a bunch more of my Turboduo/Super CD discs. :)
I hope you have Kaizou Choujin Shubibinman 3 - Ikai no Princess. :p It's brilliant fun.


[/off-topic]
 

yoshi41dragon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
871
Location
ประเทศสวิสเซอร์แลนด์
Great so far! Perhaps you could mention any necessary BIOS files and use Mednafen instead of Hugo.
Yes, Hugo instead of Mednafen-pce means no TurboDuo/PC Engine CD/Super CD games. That would mean no:


Dracula X: Rondo of Blood


Beyond Shadowgate



Bonk 3: Bonk's Big Adventure



Dragon Slayer: The Legend of Heroes



Dungeon Master: Theron's Quest



Forgotten Worlds



Gate of Thunder



It Came from the Desert



Lords of Thunder



Popful Mail



R-Type Complete



Super Raiden



Vasteel



Ys Books I and II



Ys III



Ys IV



...and who knows what else that I missed or haven't played. You know, come to think of it, I have to rip a bunch more of my Turboduo/Super CD discs. :)
Well, sure I know. These are my originals for the Turbo Duo: B)


Castlevania X


Cotton



Crest of Wolf



Dragon Slayer



Dunegon Master Theron's Quest



Forgotten Worlds



Gate of Thunder / Bonk / Bonk 2



Gradius 2 Gopher



Gynoug



Image Fight 2



Lords of Thunder



Martial Champion



Motoroader MC



Nexzr



R Type Complete CD



Star Parodier



Super Darius 2



Super Raiden



Fatal Fury 2



Cosmic Fantasy 2



Vasteel



Ys Book 1 & 2



And I play them on Temper (Wiz/Caanoo).


Anyway, Mednafen does not work on my Pandora for some reason.


If somebody could help me on that please...


http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?/topic/59491-pandora-console-emulator-fact-sheets/page__view__findpost__p__949805


Thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Middo

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
147
Age
47
Location
Cairns, Australia
Website
www.fillsites.com.au
Added a NEW USER section to the bookmarks site. (Just follow the little white rabbit, oh I mean just click on the little pandora in the top RH cnr)


Any suggestions or additions are welcome.


Cheers!
 

claregj

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
20
Hi Gruso, It is very helpful. However some of us are newbier than others. I was stymied by the term "Shoulder Button" - not in the little paper booklet. After much too long I found a link in the User Manual in the last line of the paragraph Miscellaneous which is an empty page in the Wiki. However it says use this Special Search and one of the links is Keyboard which gives Shoulder Button separately from Dpad and Game, and does say that in Minimenu they "Move left or right through the Categories of Minimenu". and the only things left are the item 16 in the booklet ("L/R Trigger Buttons") and that seems to be it.


(Having read more on the Battery management I went and got a PSP charger. Turns out that I can then charge my phone from Pandora, so need carry only the one charger after all.)


thank you,


claregj
 

F_Slim

IDDQD
Joined
Aug 25, 2010
Messages
1,400
Age
40
Location
Germany
Hey Gruso, the link about the NAND is by now very outdated and might be a bit missleading (I think all programs that used to be installed there are available as .PNDs by now and are no longer on the NAND?). The basic information (leave the NAND alone) is of course still valid and important to know, but I was about to start a thread asking if Claws Mail still writes to NAND. So it is very misleading ;)


I'd suggest to remove the link and just put the information that is still valid there.
 

Phantom-Corsair

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
2
I installed Hotfix 6 onto my new pandora and when it said, "you have custom or newer firmware do you want to update?" i clicked yes for a couple things and now my pandoras touch screen wont work
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
The hotfix 6 update is broken, it doesn't install properly overtop of an existing firmware. You need to do a full reflash, unfortunately. Instructions for that should be in the package you downloaded, I think.
 

crow_riot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,763
Location
.at
yeah a warning would be nice, i tried updating using the update pack recently, too and thought it was an error on my side that some stuff was not working anymore afterwards.
 

AcesHigh

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
19
Location
Las Vegas, NV
I have read all the documents - or most of it - and was wondering what the recommended SD Flash card is? If I missed it I apologize to the community for asking again, What's the biggest size, manufacturer and speed? any recommendations?
 

ducktel

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
3
Location
Sheffield, UK
Sorry if this is off-topic


Got my Pandora today, set up Wifi, installed Codecs and Java without any problems. Tried to access the Web Browser and got "Failed to execute default Web Browser. Input/output error." :(


As my Pandora is brand new I assume it has all the latest software and firmware updates :rolleyes:


Have looked through all the FAQs etc but cannot find anything related to my problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Further info: "Preferred Applications" lists "Debian Sensible Browser" as my selection - the only other option being "Links Text Browser"
 
Last edited by a moderator:

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
That web browser is hold over from when the Pandora shipped with a browser built in. It doesn't anymore. Start PndStore and look for Firefox, Midori, or Chromium (your choice) and install that. Also look for PndManager: pndstore is a very simple interface for browsing the repository, but pndmanager is much better.


edit: That should really be fixed. Default web browser should just be removed since it links to nothing now.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ducktel

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
3
Location
Sheffield, UK
That web browser is hold over from when the Pandora shipped with a browser built in. It doesn't anymore. Start PndStore and look for Firefox, Midori, or Chromium (your choice) and install that. Also look for PndManager: pndstore is a very simple interface for browsing the repository, but pndmanager is much better.


edit: That should really be fixed. Default web browser should just be removed since it links to nothing now.
Thanks for the heads-up :rolleyes: I quite agree that the problem needs to be fixed so that newbies like myself are not confused. Perhaps it would be possible for the suppliers to post a note in each Pandora box explaining your response's details? I settled on downloading Midori, since it was in the original installation and is very compact.
 

apersonthinks

Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
387
Just got my pandora today and found a solution. I wrote a little script called "webbrowser" and pointed the web browser icon in the start menu to it where the webbrowser script contains "pnd_run /path/to/sdcard/pandora/menu/firefox.pnd". Also, a question with the flash plugin, is there a way to get rid of the red bar in the upper left corner of every embedded flash file?
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
The flashplugin is an unofficial testversion from TI, which somehow got in the pnds by accident ;)


The red bars mark it as "beta". So getting rid of them might be a bit of a problem without sourcecode.
 

bukkit

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
221
I personally would have liked *one* information before virtually *all* others mentioned here: The information "Mouse click is done with right nub (push to the left)".


I would have needed that information the very first second the Pandora shone light into my face, and I missed it very much.


Other than that: Great helpful work. I myself am thinking about a "List of things you should never do", as there are quite a lot of them, and they're not very obvious, not even to a seasoned Linux user. In fact, sometimes the seasoned Linux user might run into one of those trapdoors.


Good thing Pandora's not brickable, but frying your battery is not too nice either.
 
Top