Pidgin keeps freezing

shideneyu

Still Fresh
Hello,

Pidgin doesn't want to work on my Pandora. I wanna use it for windows live messenger, but each time I'm connecting to my account, it freezes.

Therefore, I can't use it, and I have no other messenger available on my Pandora :(

Any help someone :( ?

Sorry about that. that a known issue. There is just to many bugs in pidgin for one man to fix (see their bug tracker)

If there is a new version I might do a new package for you, but dont expect miracle.

Use a more open protocols : they are better supported

Thanks you for your answer ;)

The main problem is that everyone I know just don't know the hidden world of software engineering;

If I'm telling them "Do you know Jabber?", they would just all ask "Who is Jabber?"

Great

Even they begin to use jabber, new people I'll meet would always use msn nor facebook

Ok I tried to make "Emesene" works on my Pandora (I use to use it on my main computer). I'm a complete newb as I have to search by myself how to do everything, and PND's are remaining to be a big secret for me. Therfore, the only thing I'm able to do is trying to convert deb to ipk, thanks google, with these commands:

tar x <package>.deb

tar cvzf <package>.ipk ./debian-binary ./data.tar.gz ./control.tar.gz

However, the last issue are dependancies. And here is my problem ! :

Installing emesene (2.11.7+dfsg-1) to root...

emesene: unsatisfied recommendation for python-gst0.10

emesene: unsatisfied recommendation for python-xmpp

emesene: unsatisfied recommendation for python-gtkspell

Collected errors:

* satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for emesene:

* python-gtk2 (>= 2.12) * python-papyon (>= 0.5.4) * python-cairo * python-notify * python-webkit * python-gobject *

* opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package emesene.

Even I succeed to make it work, I won't be able to convert the IPK package to PND My knowledge is just not enough xd